LOGINJOIN



    

Jack Anderson


 Send a Message  Follow

Reviews

2,897 reviews

Journey to the End of the Night
Jack Anderson September 24, 2020, 12:09 ET

Ca a débuté comme ça...
L’HISTOIRE
Bardamu déteste tout et tout le monde. Rien ni personne n’a de grâce à ses yeux, à part le sexe et les animaux. Le reste n’est que pourriture, viande en décomposition. Ses supérieurs militaires, ses compagnes qui le quittent, ses médecins, même sa mère. Son dégoût est total et catégorique. Chemin faisant, il va aller voir ailleurs si l’herbe est plus verte. Il arrive donc enfin à s’extirper des affres de la guerre pour partir en Afrique mais n’y découvre qu’une moiteur infecte et des cris dans la nuit. Vaste programme. Il traverse donc, et malgré lui, l’Atlantique et découvre que les choses ne sont pas bien mieux aux Etats-Unis d’Amérique. Que reste-t-il ? Rien.

UNE AFFAIRE D’APPARTEMENT
Céline s’était déjà essayé au genre littéraire en écrivant une thèse de médecine dans un style littéraire. Le Voyage sera donc son premier roman. Au vu de la force et du talent de Céline, on imagine fort bien qu’il décida d’écrire ce roman par une envie pressante, un désir ardent d’écrire. Pas le moins du monde. Céline n’a pas une condition économique forte et se dit que peut-être, en écrivant un roman, et en en vendant assez, pourra-t-il se payer un appartement. Et puis il faut le dire, tout ce qui est écrit l’ennui. Il n’a, selon moi, pas de concurrence.

LE MACHIN
Je ne sais si Céline avait une haute estime de lui-même, mais ce qui est certain, c’est que Céline avait une haute opinion de son travail. Aussi haute que les étoiles que l’on devine, au-dessus des nuages sombrent qui peuplent son récit.
Le 14 avril 1932, Céline envoie son manuscrit à la N.R.F., « un récit romancé, dans une forme assez singulière et dont je ne vois pas beaucoup d’exemples dans la littérature en général. Je ne l’ai pas voulu ainsi. C’est ainsi. Il s’agit d’une manière de symphonie littéraire, émotive plutôt que d’un véritable roman. L’écueil du genre c’est l’ennui. Au point de vue émotif ce récit est assez voisin de ce qu’on obtient ou devrait obtenir avec de la musique. Cela se tient sans cesse aux confins des émotions et des mots, des représentations précises, sauf aux moments d’accents, eux impitoyablement précis.
D’où quantité de diversions qui entrent peu à peu dans le thème et le font chanter finalement comme en composition musicale. Tout cela demeure fort prétentieux et mieux que ridicule si le travail est raté. À vous d’en juger. Pour moi, c’est réussi. C’est ainsi que je sens les choses. Tant pis pour eux. »
En effet, pour être réussi, c’est réussi. Céline finit sa lettre par ces mots. « Tout cela est parfaitement amené. Je ne voudrais pour rien au monde que ce sujet me soye soufflé. C’est du pain pour un siècle entier de littérature. C’est le prix Goncourt 1932 dans un fauteuil pour l’Heureux éditeur qui saura retenir cette oeuvre sans pareil, ce moment capital de la nature humaine... »
Huit mois plus tard, Céline ratera le prix Goncourt. De peu, mais raté quand même. Mais, quatre-vingt-huit ans plus tard, ce machin reste aujourd’hui l’un des livres les plus appréciés de la littérature française. Et du monde aussi. Lorsqu’un impitoyable sondage est effectué, le Voyage termine toujours sa course dans les premiers, au chaud près de L’Etranger, A la recherche du temps perdu ou Les Misérables.

UN STYLE
Car ce roman a tout d’une bombe. Au littéral comme au figuré. A travers les premières pages de la guerre, les images sont si fortes que les émotions nous prennent à la gorge et à la gueule même. Musique !
« Quant au colonel, lui, je ne lui voulais pas de mal. Lui pourtant aussi il était mort. Je ne le vis plus, tout d’abord. C’est qu’il avait été déporté sur le talus, allongé sur le flanc par l’explosion et projeté jusque dans les bras du cavalier à pied, le messager, fini lui aussi. Ils s’embrassaient tous les deux pour le moment et pour toujours mais le cavalier n’avait plus sa tête, rien qu’une ouverture au-dessus du cou, avec du sang dedans qui mijotait en glouglous comme de la confiture dans la marmite. Le colonel avait son ventre ouvert, il en faisait une sale grimace. »

Ou plus simplement.

« Mon coeur au chaud, ce lapin, derrière sa petite grille des côtes, agité, blotti, stupide.
Quand on se jette d’un trait du haut de la Tour Eiffel on doit sentir des choses comme ça. On voudrait se rattraper dans l’espace. »

Ce lyrisme est digne des plus grand poètes et confère au roman une dimension poétique des plus sublime. La poésie reste confinée aux savants. Qui lit de la poésie ? Les gens s’ennuient. Ici, Céline fait ce tour de force incroyable de mêler une histoire, certes simple, avec la poésie.

« Musyne disparut avec les autres. Je l’ai attendue, chez nous, en haut, une nuit, tout un jour, un an... Elle n’est jamais revenue me trouver. »

Ainsi, le lecteur vit ce voyage et s’y plonge et voit et sent tout. Ca sent pas toujours bon, mais c’est réel.

« Les crépuscules dans cet enfer africain se révélaient fameux. On n’y coupait pas. Tragiques chaque fois comme d’énormes assassinats du soleil. Un immense chiqué. Seulement c’était beaucoup d’admiration pour un seul homme. Le ciel pendant une heure paradait tout giclé d’un bout à l’autre d’écarlate en délire, et puis le vert éclatait au milieu des arbres et montait du sol en trainées tremblantes jusqu’aux premières étoiles. Après ça le gris reprenait tout l’horizon et puis le rouge encore, mais alors fatigué le rouge et pas pour longtemps. Ça se terminait ainsi. Toutes les couleurs retombaient en lambeaux, avachies sur la forêt comme des oripeaux après la centième. Chaque jour sur les six heures exactement que ça se passait.
Et la nuit avec tous ses monstres entrait alors dans la danse parmi ses mille et mille bruits de gueules de crapauds.
La forêt n’attend que leur signal pour se mettre à trembler, siffler, mugir de toutes ses profondeurs. Une énorme gare amoureuse et sans lumière, pleine à craquer. Des arbres entiers bouffis de gueuletons vivants, d’érections mutilées, d’horreur. »

LA SOLITUDE ET LA HAINE
Que Céline l’ait voulu ou pas, le récit est hautement philosophique. Céline ne cesse les maximes. A tout bout de champ, ceux de batailles et les autres aussi. « Ainsi le mouton, sur le flanc, dans le pré, agonise et broute encore. La plupart des gens ne meurent qu’au dernier moment ; d’autres commencent et s’y prennent vingt ans d’avance et parfois d’avantage. Ce sont les malheureux de la terre. »

Les gens, y compris le narrateur, ne sont pour la plupart que des viandes. Il faut en attendre des pages avant de voir des personnages qui aient grâce aux yeux de Ferdinand Bardamu, le narrateur. Il faut attendre la page 159 pour être très précis, et que Alcide, son compagnon d’infortune en Afrique, ne lui explique qu’il prenait soin de sa nièce, en travaillant dur et en lui envoyant le maigre argent qu’il ne gagnât.

« Je ne savais pas quoi lui répondre moi, je n’étais pas très compétent, mais il me dépassait tellement par le cœur que j’en devins tout rouge... Â côté d’Alcide, rien qu’un mufle impuissant moi, épais, et vain j’étais... Y avait pas à chiquer. C’était net. »

Céline ne se donne pas le beau rôle, bien au contraire. Ce serait vulgaire. Son personnage est un oublié de Dieu, pour paraphraser Travis Buckle dans Taxi Driver. Les gens autour de lui sont des monstres, mais il réalise qu’il en est un lui également. Il a beau ne pas vouloir la guerre, il serait du genre à espérer un monde sans personne dessus. Et là encore il trouverait à redire.

Il a une sainte horreur de la guerre, et puis il se rend compte que le reste n’est guère mieux. La guerre et son guère mieux. Et puis rien d’autre. Alors il avance tout de même, dans un voyage au bout de la nuit.

VERDICT
Je donne la note de dix sur six à ce roman. Il y eut l’avant et l’après.


 
 
The Kidnapping of Michel Houellebecq
Jack Anderson September 20, 2020, 12:09 ET

UFO
This film is a complete UFO. An artistic take on the famous French author Michel Houellebecq. I wasn’t sure how it would be like, but I must admit the film is excellent. Sure, it’s definitely not for everyone, but I really enjoyed it.
Houellebecq may play his own role, but the authenticity he gives is really terrific.

VERDICT
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 8
Jack Anderson September 17, 2020, 12:09 ET

Loved it!
What an excellent season finale. It is a shame that this season starts with such a bad episode, as the second season is very good. I just loved all the characters and how the writers properly closed each storyline. They care and that shows. And obviously, we need to have a third season where Maeve and Otis finally get together.

VERDICT
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 7
Jack Anderson September 16, 2020, 12:09 ET

Very good
Definitely, Sex Education is a good show. It is far from perfect but it is more than watchable. This episode proves that the second season is a success, even if two episodes were very bad. I really enjoyed the resolution of the bus story.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 6
Jack Anderson September 16, 2020, 12:09 ET

Loved it!
By far the best episode of the second season so far. I just loved everything about this episode. Every story was extremely interesting and executed beautifully.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 5
Jack Anderson September 16, 2020, 12:09 ET

Awful
This episode is awful. It goes straight with the bad season premiere. The story of Otis’ father was horrendous and not funny.


 
 
Hygiène de l'assassin
Jack Anderson September 15, 2020, 12:09 ET

Dialogues creux et trop plein à la fois
N’ayant lu que Stupeur et tremblements, je me lance dans la bibliographie d’Amélie Nothomb par le début. C’est à dire par Hygiène de l’assassin, un roman dont le titre alambiqué n’était pas pour me déplaire.

Malheureusement, dès les premières pages, ma réaction fut tout autre. Le style est difficilement déchiffrable, car il s’agit avant toute chose d’un livre de dialogues. Le célèbre écrivain Prétextat Tach est mourant. La presse s’agglutine donc autour de ce futur ancien Prix Nobel de littérature afin de recueillir ses dernières pensées. Déjà, le nom de l’auteur m’horripile au plus haut point. Prétextat Tach. Le drapeau rouge se lève et l’on sent déjà l’auteur réel qui impose son monde au lieu de l’écouter. L’auteur assène et dirige tel un architecte qui placerait des châteaux sur des rivières, pour peu que ça lui plaise.

Au-delà des aspects dirigeant, les dialogues ne m’ont guère plu. Les dialogues ne sont pas réalistes pour un sou et assez creux et trop plein à la fois, à l’image d’une calorie vide.

Il faut attendre précisément 135 pages avant d’avoir un seul élément un tant soit peu intéressant, à savoir la découverte du meurtre perpétré par Prétéxtat Tach. A partir de ce moment, le roman est bien plus intéressant, mais l’histoire tient plus à une fable qu’à un récit réaliste, et, ce faisant, enlève tout suspense et donc toute envie de lire, car le style n’est pas non plus au rendez-vous.

Au final, lire Hygiène de l’assassin fut une épreuve, un supplice heureusement court (220 pages).

Amélie Nothomb est un écrivain avec une vie romanesque qui écrit des romans sans intérêt.

VERDICT
Je donne à ce livre la note de deux sur dix. Très mauvais.


 
 
Scoob!
Jack Anderson September 13, 2020, 12:09 ET

Not good
The animation is horrible. As unimaginative as possible. The story makes no sense and is overly complex. The characters are not interesting. Really bad.

I much preferred the Scoobydo episodes I used to watch as a kid. There was often a simple but mysterious and interesting story. We would discover at the end who was the killer. Pretty much like an Agatha Christie novel.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 4
Jack Anderson September 13, 2020, 12:09 ET

Maeve and Otis
Once again a very good episode. Don't get fooled by the bad first episode of this second season, the episodes 3 and 4 are quite good.

I felt entirely for Maeve and Otis. The young actors are playing wonderfully.


 
 
Joyeux suicide et bonne année
Jack Anderson September 13, 2020, 12:09 ET

Joyeux suicide et bonne bite !
Joyeux suicide et bonne année !, c’est d’abord un titre. Un oxymore osé et gai qui m’a donné envie d’acheter ce petit livre.
Le contenu est similaire à son titre. Le livre est sans prétention aucune. Il raconte l’histoire d’une femme quarantenaire, sur qui la solitude pèse tant, qu’elle décide d’agender son suicide pour Noël. C’est décidé, elle va quitter cette Terre et, ce faisant, espère que son chagrin s’en ira également.
Mais c’était sans compter une amie qui lui conseille de voir un psy, qui va lui donner des devoirs entre chaque séance. Dépasser ses limites, prendre une décision osée. Sa nouvelle vie l’emmènera vers des chemins inédits.

L’histoire démarre donc d’une manière certes dramatique, mais l’auteure nous offre un personnage qui pense cru. La protagoniste n’a pas peur de penser les coups de bites qu’elle aimerait recevoir ou de nous décrire son épilation intégrale.
Ca donne au roman un souffle drôle et fort, mais de la même manière, dessert la force du propos. A-t-on vraiment envie de mourir quand on a un esprit aussi vif et espiègle ainsi qu’un compte en banque nouvellement fourni de près d’un demi-million d’euros – hérité de son père ?
Aussi, certains chapitres partent dans des chemins superflus et irréalistes, notamment son psy qui s’émeut de la voir se prendre d’émotion pour une SDF en train de succomber. Et ce que je n’ai pas non plus apprécié, c’est la rapidité de sa transformation. Il aura suffit d’une bite pour tout résoudre. Peut-être est-ce néanmoins la morale cachée du livre. All you need is love. Le roman aurait donc pu s’appeler Joyeux suicide et bonne bite !

Au final, un très bon divertissement sans prétention. Cela m’a rappelé le style de Nicole de Buron, mais en plus cru.

VERDICT
Je lui donne 5 sur 10. Bon. Il ne restera néanmoins pas dans ma bibliothèque.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 3
Jack Anderson September 13, 2020, 12:09 ET

Delicate
A delicate episode that I really enjoyed watching. The story of the bus was very well executed.

VERDICT
I give it 6 out of 10. Very good.


 
 
Chanson douce
Jack Anderson September 12, 2020, 12:09 ET

Superbe
"Chanson Douce" n'est que le second roman de Leïla Slimani, mais déjà, la jeune auteure montre ici tout son talent. J'ai apprécié notamment le style à la fois sobre et lyrique. Elle n'abuse pas des métaphores stylistiques et les use à bon escient et avec parcimonie.

Le livre est clairement un page turner et même si l'histoire est très simple, l'auteur tisse plusieurs fils à la fois, qui deviennent des comptes à rebours multiples. Il y a les parents qui commencent à douter de Louise et hésitent à s'en séparer, la petite Mila qui devient parfois une ennemie enfantine, la situation précaire de Louise, son petit appartement qui s'effrite et dont on comprend qu'elle en sera bientôt virée et enfin, la légère folie de Louise qui s'installe à mesure que le lecteur tourne les pages.

VERDICT
Je donne à ce livre la note de huit sur dix. Un superbe petit roman qui gagna le prix Goncourt 2016.


 
 
The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair: How Does Your Garden Grow
Jack Anderson September 11, 2020, 12:09 ET

Horrendous
I waited eight years to finally see the adaptation of the great eponymous book La Vérité sur l'Affaire Harry Quebert. I expected it could easily make a bad movie. In this case, it's a bad series. But it's very, very bad.

HORRIBLE CASTING
The first thing that struck to mind is how bad the casting was. The actor playing Marcus Goldman is bad. I mean, really, really bad. Horrible. It is lightyears from the Marcus Goldman from the book.
And what about Harry Quebert? Choosing Patrick Dempsey felt totally out of place to me and it shows. He is not Harry Quebert. Far from it.

VERDICT
I give it 2 out of 10. Very bad.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 2
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Good
After the horrendous precedent episode, it's with a big relief that I discovered this one. Every storyline was interesting. A complete change. Much fewer caricatures (I said fewer).

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
24: 12:00 P.M.-1:00 P.M.
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Resolution
I really enjoyed the resolution of the compound story. I am just a bit afraid that the series will no longer be that good after that. Let's see.


 
 
24: 11:00 A.M.-12:00 P.M.
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Very good
Jack is now in the compound in a two-episode bang!


 
 
24: 10:00 A.M.-11:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
24: 9:00 A.M.-10:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
24: 8:00 A.M.-9:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

A tour de force
La Vérité sur l'Affaire Harry Quebert is a fantastic book. Written by the Swiss athor Joël Dicker, the book is a complete tour de force.

The 850-page long book is telling the story of Harry Quebert, an American author that once fall in love with Nola, a 15-year old girl that disappeared mysteriously.

GOOD THRILLER
Dicker is using the best methods from the best thrillers. The scenes are short, going straight to the point, many cliffhangers, etc.

ORGANIZED MESS
But the book goes much further. The book keeps going from the present to the past to another present and yet another past. We keep learning more and more about the characters and the sub-stories and everything makes perfect sense, even though we keep going in many directions. Like a growing spiral, the author keeps raising the bar and the tension for 850 pages, I am simply amazed by how such a young author could deliver such structure knowing that this is only his second book.

But it doesn't end there yet...

A BOOK WITHIN THE BOOK WITHIN THE BOOK WITHIN THE BOOK WITHIN THE BOOK
To seal the deal, Dicker puts the final touch that makes the book from great to superb. There is the book within the book. Marcus Goldberg, the protagonist, is writing the book of the affair in front of our eyes. But in doing so, Goldberg tells the story of Dicker too, as they are both writing their second novel.
- SPOILER ALERT -
But it keeps getting more complex, there is then, at the very end of the book, another book. And also a book that was not written by its supposed author. And ultimately yet another book that was written by someone else. In many ways, this is the story of five separate books:
- The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair, by Joël Dicker
- The Harry Quebert Affair, by Marcus Goldberg
- The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair, by Marcus Goldberg
- The Origins of Evil, by Luther Caleb (released as Harry Quebert)
- The Seagulls of Aurora, by Harry Quebert (released as Luther Caleb)

HARD WORK
That, my friends, is some serious hard work. And this tells overall that writing a book is not about drinking alcohol and writing in the middle of the night. It's about hard work. And Joël Dicker did the work.

VERDICT
I give it 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 1
Jack Anderson September 8, 2020, 12:09 ET

Parody of itself
I enjoyed the first season, but did not like this season premiere at all. It was a parody of itself. The characters were caricatures and gone is the seriousness of the show.

VERDICT
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 
Tenet
Jack Anderson August 28, 2020, 12:08 ET

Ambitious James Bond time-travel film
Three years after Dunkirk, revolutionary filmmaker Christopher Nolan is back with Tenet, a story I would really struggle to explain here. But let me try anyway.
The Protagonist is a character that tries to unveil an evil plot of a man trying to destroy the entire world with a secret weapon using time. I know.
In many ways, this is a classic Nolan film. It has a very complex plot based on a scifi element that is believable (manipulating dreams in Inception) and uses time as a mechanism throughout the film (see Memento, Interstellar and Dunkirk).
Does it work? It does and it doesn't. On one side, the movie is a jaw-dropping delight for any Nolan fan like I am. After about sixty seconds into the film, I looked at my girlfriend with a gigantic smile on my face. I am in heaven. The scope, the tension, the soundtrack, the seriousness, everything is here.
But there is one side that doesn't truly work. I think the duo of John David Washington and Robert Pattinson is terrific, but not magical, like many classic duos are. The main flaw of the film is quite the same as the one from Inception. The characters are almost like taken from a Gucci advertisement and you cannot really truly care for them. I believe Nolan should add a touch of emotion in some of his films such as here. We focus too much on the action and little on the emotional journey of the protagonists.
But still, don't get me wrong, watching this film was a complete delight.

TIME TRAVEL
There is time travel and then there's time travel. When I waited one year to see the second half of Avengers: Endgame, I felt deeply disappointed. All this time waited for a classic time-travel story? The characters basically go back in the past to fix the future and voilà? How lame. How classic. How unimaginative.
Here, it is exactly the contrary. Nolan is giving the audience such a dense material that you can only wonder about many elements of the film. To be quite blunt, I only understood part of it. Like one of the secondary characters mentioned, "Don’t try to understand it, feel it." She basically talked to the audience. And I went along with it. And I darn loved it.

KENNETH BRANAGH
After an excellent interpretation in Dunkirk, Kenneth Branagh is back in a new Nolan film. The actor was totally unrecognizable. He felt like the ultimate James Bond vilain. He went places I have rarely seen an actor going when playing an evil character. I loved how Nolan pushed the boundaries and crossed the yellow line.

AMBITION
Most importantly, the film is ambitious. You can dislike Christopher Nolan, but you cannot deny the level of ambition he goes for in his work. He doesn't just produce an action movie, he goes the distance and put the time and effort. Actually, he even put time in his script.

VERDICT
I do not know if I want to give this film 7 or 8. I will give it 8 because I am such a big fan of Nolan and because of how ambitious the film was.


 
 
24: 7:00 A.M.-8:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 17, 2020, 12:08 ET

Thrilling!
The show's concept is simply thrilling! In this episode, Senator Palmer is doing a speech and this episode is so entertaining that it could easily have been a season finale on its own.


 
 
24: 6:00 A.M.-7:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 17, 2020, 12:08 ET

Good
I understand why people loved this series so much. It is very addictive.


 
 
24: 5:00 A.M.-6:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 16, 2020, 12:08 ET

Fun
The episode is fun and entertaining! I was shocked to discover that (spoiler alert) the father of that girl is not who we think he was.


 
 
24: 4:00 A.M.-5:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 15, 2020, 12:08 ET

More interesting
This episode was a bit more interesting than its predecessor. I really like the concept of the show and it shines here.


 
 
24: 3:00 A.M.-4:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 13, 2020, 12:08 ET

Interesting
Worth watching. Or so...


 
 
Billions: Dead Cat Bounce
Jack Anderson August 13, 2020, 12:08 ET

Mmh
At the beginning of a new season, I feel already a rising boredom. Sure, the new androgynous character is fun and fresh, but the rivality between Chuck and Axelrod cannot continue for so long. This is not interesting anymore.

VERDICT
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 
24: 2:00 A.M.-3:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 12, 2020, 12:08 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
24: 1:00 A.M.-2:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 12, 2020, 12:08 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
Billions: Risk Management
Jack Anderson August 12, 2020, 12:08 ET

Renewed energy
After a second part of the first season a bit boring, Billions is back with some renewed energy. But I'm not sure how long this will last. I'm still unclear on how we can have years and years about a confrontation between Axelrod and Chuck. I'd much rather want to see a new story.

I really enjoyed the new character played by Asia Kate Dillon. I discovered this person in an Apple TV+ LGBT documentary and couldn't wait to see her role in Billions. Something is telling me we'll see more of her and I am looking forward to that. There is something fascinating about her. Because she's different and I like that in a movie.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Billions: The Conversation
Jack Anderson August 11, 2020, 12:08 ET

Confrontation
A nice season finale ending with a nice confrontation. My only concern is that it's been 12 hours that we see those two characters (Chuck and Axe) going at each other. It already starts to become boring and I hope we won't go another full season on it.

Psychologically, the joke is actually on Chuck. Because by focusing his entire energy on Axe, he empowers him to destroy his own life.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Billions: Magical Thinking
Jack Anderson August 11, 2020, 12:08 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
Billions: Quality of Life
Jack Anderson August 10, 2020, 12:08 ET

Dollar Bill
I liked this episode. The trial of "Dollar" Bill, the final appearance of Anthony Edwards as a corrupt judge, the funeral and the secret backstory of Donnie, the fake fight between Bill and Axel. Entertaining.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Billions: Where the F*ck is Donnie?
Jack Anderson August 10, 2020, 12:08 ET

Anthony Edwards
I like the appearance of Anthony Edwards as a guest star, but the episode itself was, like the previous one, rather boring. Lots of endless talks, not much to remember visually. The end of the second is not as entertaining as the first part, sadly.

VERDICT
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 
Billions: Boasts and Rails
Jack Anderson August 9, 2020, 12:08 ET

Boring
To me, the first boring episode of the show. Really not interesting.


 
 
Billions: The Punch
Jack Anderson August 9, 2020, 12:08 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
Billions: The Deal
Jack Anderson August 9, 2020, 12:08 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
Billions: The Good Life
Jack Anderson August 8, 2020, 12:08 ET

Xanadu
Once again a good episode and obviously I liked the references to Citizen Kane, not only visually but into the story as well.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Billions: Short Squeeze
Jack Anderson August 8, 2020, 12:08 ET

The Metallica Episode
Once again, a solid 5 for this episode. Everything flows naturally like a first-season Showtime series (see Californication).
The question is, will the series be able to stay relevant for years? Well, let's see, shall we?

What I liked the most in this episode was Axe's future ex-friend taking a tip and shorting a stock while destroying their friendship.

Oh, and it was cool to see Metallica. Duh.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Billions: Yumtime
Jack Anderson August 8, 2020, 12:08 ET

9/12
This episode proves that we are in front of a Showtime show. The recipe? Sex, over the top scenes (but not too much), fun characters and enough to have an exciting hour.

I really enjoyed the little vengeance about the 9/12 book – and by the way, great title!

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Billions: Naming Rights
Jack Anderson August 8, 2020, 12:08 ET

Less punchy
Slightly less punchy than the pilot episode, but still enjoyable. I have a feeling this show will rarely go past the 5 grade but also will probably entertain for quite some time.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Billions: Pilot
Jack Anderson August 6, 2020, 12:08 ET

Damien Lewis
Being passionate about finance, I really enjoyed this pilot. I think the best thing was the casting of Damian Lewis as Axe. Lewis is such an iconic actor for his great performance in Band of Brothers, that you'd never expect him playing a corrupt character.

Meanwhile, the story is not extraordinary, but the production was so well executed that it worked quite well. I want to know the rest of the story and believe me, it is very rare that I find a pilot worth continuing.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Westworld: The Original
Jack Anderson August 5, 2020, 12:08 ET

Ambitiously boring
I know why I never watched Westworld until now. It's boring. I watched the pilot but did not like it. The characters are not interesting and the story very boring.
Sure, the is a sense of the show being well produced and being ambitious, but that doesn't translate into good material.

LOCATIONS
The locations are utterly sublime, and it doesn't matter. Because this is not reality. This is an illusion, a simulation. That's a shame.

ACTORS
You can clearly see the difference between movie actors and TV actors in this film. Ed Harris and Anthony Hopkins are perfect and providing some level of depth to their characters. The others are not.

VERDICT
I give it 3 out of 10. Ambitious but boring.


 
 
Rick and Morty: Star Mort Rickturn of the Jerri
Jack Anderson August 4, 2020, 12:08 ET

Not great
I'd have to rewatch this episode, but I was not a fan of this season finale.

VERDICT
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 
Rick and Morty: Childrick of Mort
Jack Anderson August 4, 2020, 12:08 ET

Uninteresting
I did not like this episode. And I don't have much to say. Just an uninteresting story that turned into an uninteresting episode.

VERDICT
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 
Rick and Morty: The Vat of Acid Episode
Jack Anderson August 4, 2020, 12:08 ET

Ctrl+Z
Thiss episo –bleep–

This epissodee i –bleep–

This episode is super cool! The story of Rick and his girlfriend, the... er... what's the name of that movie? –bleep–

This episode is super cool! The story of Rick and his girlfriend, the Prestige moment, everything was top notch!

VERDICT
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 
Rick and Morty: Promortyus
Jack Anderson August 4, 2020, 12:08 ET

Shittin' eggs
An episode about a planet with inhabitants shitting eggs and dying. Not much meat on the bone.

VERDICT
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 
Rick and Morty: Never Ricking Morty
Jack Anderson August 2, 2020, 12:08 ET

Story Train
Jesus! What an episode. Don't even try to blink for a second, because it is, once again, blazing-fast and equally fun.

Without any doubt the best episode of the season so far.

VERDICT
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 
24: 12:00 A.M.-1:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 2, 2020, 12:08 ET

Good American concept for the mass
24 is a good American concept for the mass. Don't look for subtlety or anything of the sort. 24 is made to be consumed with a Coca-Cola and a McDonald's meal. Shut down the artistic part of your brain and just go with the flow.

Obviously, the concept is pretty cool, because at the time, back in the 2000's, most series had 24 episodes of 43 minutes per season. One hour per episode if you count the countless commercials from American TV (Hey, did you know about this drug?). So that's pretty cool.

But at the same time, the acting is pretty clichés and the characters are one-dimensional. This is pure TV in the classic sense of the way.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 


Next >

News

All News
TV News
Movies News
Books News
Stars News

TV

All Series
Trending Series
TV Quotes
My Series

Movies

All Movies
Coming Soon
Watch Free Movies
Oscar Best Pictures
Movies Quotes
My Movies
Watchlist

Books

All Books
Books Quotes
Book Club
My Books

Fanfics

All Fanfics
My Fanfics

Gaming

All Games

Music

All Albums

Lists

All Lists

Stars

All Stars
Hottest Stars
Stars Quotes
Born Today

Community

Last Comments
Last Reviews
Hottest Stars
Members
Shop
Premium

Contact tvore   Terms and Conditions   Privacy Policy   Copyright © 2020 tvore