LOGINJOIN



    

 Dickinson       Episodes       News       Comments       Fanfics       Photos       Quotes       Reviews

Reviews

10 reviews

Dickinson: I felt a Funeral, in my Brain
Jack Anderson November 6, 2019, 12:11 ET

The end
A very weak season finale of an equally weak series – or at least first season. The aftermath of Ben's death was irrelevant and uninteresting. There was simply no emotions whatsoever.

The first season of Dickinson is already over and clearly it did not have a full show in it. This could have been an interesting feature film – the story, or a story of Emily Dickinson. But here, we never know what we are in front of. Is it a teenagers show? A show about poetry and art? A show about death? Or all of it? Well, my view is that it's none of it.

I would really not renew this series for a second season. One season was enough. But let's see what the future brings to Emily.


 
 
Dickinson: ‘Faith’ is a fine invention
Jack Anderson November 6, 2019, 12:11 ET

Quick death
The introduction of Ben was really horrendous. Emily fell completely in love with him, and in only a few short sentences. And already, just a few episodes in, he's dead. Since there was no real tension built, we really could not care less about his passing.

VERDICT
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 
Dickinson: There’s a certain Slant of light
Jack Anderson November 6, 2019, 12:11 ET

Average
While the episode could have been interesting, I simply find the character of Ben was really, really underworked. The actor is really not giving a lot, but he doesn't even have a lot of words to work on. I really do not believe that Emily could have felt for him, which makes the entire storyline quite uninteresting.

VERDICT
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 
Dickinson: We lose - because we win
Jack Anderson November 6, 2019, 12:11 ET

Slightly better
The episode is slightly better than the previous one and ends with a very powerful shot of Hailee Steinfeld. She's really a talented actress.
Still, I note the episode as average, as there is not much meat on the bone.


 
 
Dickinson: A brief, but patient illness
Jack Anderson November 6, 2019, 12:11 ET

Sue returns
The episode itself is quite boring, until Sue returns and suddenly we are taken back during the first three (and interesting) episodes.
I hope the following episodes will then be interesting again.


 
 
Dickinson: I am afraid to own a Body
Jack Anderson November 6, 2019, 12:11 ET

Still no Sue
I really do not get it. The main story had just started and already three episodes in, the love triangle between Emily, Sue and Austin has disappeared. Sue is gone and since then, I simply am not interested anymore.
I believe that in a series – or any other art form for that matter, you need to convince the audience from the beginning. Here, we had three interesting episodes and now two uninteresting ones already. I think Emily is losing me...

VERDICT
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 
Dickinson: Alone, I cannot be
Jack Anderson November 3, 2019, 12:11 ET

Not funny
I did not like this episode. The jokes were not funny. The story not interesting. And actually, the main story is taking a pause (Sue has left to Boston) and we don't get the confrontation between Austin and Emily.
And the thing with the hat of Emily's sister was just irrelevant.

VERDICT
The worst episode of the series so far, I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 
Dickinson: Wild nights
Jack Anderson November 3, 2019, 12:11 ET

Partay!
Like the previous episode, this episode is interesting, as things are already starting to crumble. Emily's brother has just discovered that she has a relationship with his fiancée.
Meanwhile, I believe that the succession of the anachronic clips with modern music is pushed too far. For a half hour show, we don't get lots of dialogues. But at least time flies quickly on this one.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Dickinson: I have never seen ‘Volcanoes’
Jack Anderson November 3, 2019, 12:11 ET

Good but...
The second episode of Dickinson is good, but there's a but... A big but. The episode shows the limitation of the series. Emily does a bad (bad) thing. Her father reprimands her. One erotic scene. A narrated poem. See you next time. I don't think this is enough to sustain a full series. But I continue to watch.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Dickinson: Because I could not stop
Jack Anderson November 2, 2019, 12:11 ET

Fresh
Released simultaneously with the other series from Apple TV+, Dickinson is everything The Morning Show is not. The editing is fast, the actors are young, the tone is modern, while The Morning Show is using a modern theme (#MeToo) with a boring form.
But let's stop comparing things that are not to be compared.

For a show telling the story of Emily Dickinson, obviously, the most important part is to cast Emily. And this is a win. Hailee Steinfeld, which I discover here, is simply perfect. I know nothing about Emily Dickinson, but that's all right, because I don't want to watch a biography. A fun story based on a true character is enough for me to be satisfied. And I'm quite sure this was the goal of the series.
But again, Hailee Steinfeld is fresh and rebel and still very interesting. I like her performance a lot and she clearly carries the show.

While the pilot is fun, I do wonder if there is an entire series behind it. But let's see.

VERDICT
I give it 6 out of 10. Very good.


 
 



News

All News
TV News
Movies News
Books News
Stars News

TV

All Series
Trending Series
TV Quotes
My Series

Movies

All Movies
Coming Soon
Watch Free Movies
Oscar Best Pictures
Movies Quotes
My Movies
Watchlist

Books

All Books
Books Quotes
Book Club
My Books

Fanfics

All Fanfics
My Fanfics

Gaming

All Games

Music

All Albums

Lists

All Lists

Stars

All Stars
Hottest Stars
Stars Quotes
Born Today

Community

Last Comments
Last Reviews
Hottest Stars
Members
Shop
Premium

Contact tvore   Terms and Conditions   Privacy Policy   Copyright © 2020 tvore