LOGINJOIN



    
Gruic

🕯 King-in-Waiting (1,802 points)

 Following / Followers     Reviews     Series     Movies     Watchlist     Books     Albums     Games     Fanfics     Posts   
 Send a Message  Follow

Reviews

Episode 1

Marvel's Jessica Jones


Decent Season premiere
Gruic June 17, 2019, 12:06 ET

Not good, not bad, not very creative, an average start for the last season of Jessica Jones.


 
 

WHEN THE YOGURT TOOK OVER

Love, Death & Robots


Smart
Gruic June 9, 2019, 12:06 ET

A smart and solid episode.


 
 

Sand

3%


WTF Fernando ?!
Gruic June 8, 2019, 12:06 ET

WTF... so the direction had a problem with Michel Gomes? Schedule conflict ? Something like that ? So they just decided to kill the character without the actor ?

We're in 2019 and I still hate when shit like that happened.


 
 

Survival of the Fittest

The Rain


Tetsuooo!
Gruic June 7, 2019, 12:06 ET

It was enjoyable seeing Rasmus turning into a Testuo-like character.


 
 

Three Robots

Love, Death & Robots


Very likely
Gruic May 13, 2019, 12:05 ET

The writing is maybe too easy, but it's still very funny and smart.


 
 

Sonnie's Edge

Love, Death & Robots


Nice anthology
Gruic May 13, 2019, 12:05 ET

A nice introduction for this anthology series. This Cyber Punk world is well crafted and interesting.


 
 

One Planet

Our Planet


The dream Team is back
Gruic April 28, 2019, 12:04 ET

A lot of great people are back for another great work. Always a pleasure to have more videos narrated by legendary David Attenborough.

An excellent episode.


 
 

Part 1

Leaving Neverland


Staying neutral
Gruic April 27, 2019, 12:04 ET

That Michael Jackson was a weird guy, that's for sure. As well as mothers letting an adult in the same room as their own children all night.

I watched Leaving Neverland a couple of weeks ago, then watched a lot of other videos about it. Was Michael Jackson a pedophile ? Well... that documentary is long, and with absolutly no factual proof, I'm still very neutral. You know, I'm not a god, I'm not a judge, I wasn't there... In my opinion, to avoid confirmation bias, staying neutral is the key. We can step back and look at the overall picture and avoid witchhunt.

That said, the directing, musics and pictures of this documentary are not neutral at all. It's like Neverland was a cemetary without any employee or sun. It's not objective and I'm not sure it serves wade robson and james safechuck testimonies.


 
 

Avengers: Endgame




Avengers... Assemble
Gruic April 24, 2019, 12:04 ET

Avengers Assemble.

Yep.

At last. We have it. And it was not a shout, not an enormous "Avengers Assemble!!!" but a simple, calm and grateful "Avengers... Assemble."

Very powerful.

Like a "thank you".

Because this movie is a "thank you". A "thank you" conclusion. Everything does not work. It's not perfect, some scenes are kinda bad...

but...

the movie is still solid. With no doubt. Using all the mythology of the MCU, bringing back all the characters (even Jarvis from Agent Carter or the Hydra agents!), the movie is a celebration. A big birthday.

Because the whole thing works. From 2008 to 2019, it has good stuff, it has bad stuff, but the whole saga, spread over 11 years, is a revolution. It's a game changer. And we were a part of it.

It was also the last participation of Stan Lee. He was in the conclusion, he knows it. He knows the X-Men and the Fantastic Four are back on the MCU. He can just drive in the 70e, defending peace against war with a touching big smile.

Stan was Stan, until the very end.

Thank you Marvel.


 
 

Berserk: The Flame Dragon Knight




Better than I thought
Gruic April 17, 2019, 12:04 ET

In Berserk, Grunbeld is a disagreeable character. He is an antagonist of Gust and one of the destroyer of the Mansion of the Spirit Tree. So writing a book about him was not fan service at all, so kinda courageous.

So I read it and it's a very good light novel. Not amazing, not perfect, but very good. The character of Grunbeld works. So it's a success.

Now I want more Berserk light novels.


 
 

Berserk 40




Damn Cliffhanger!
Gruic April 16, 2019, 12:04 ET

Damnit! Having, at last, Casca back and stopped on a cliffhanger like that, that's very unfair Kentaro!

Berserk 40 is still a conclusion. A conclusion of a very long quest started long long time ago, during Berserk 22, so many years ago. The story and the lore are very mastered and we follow Shierke and Farnese with a lot of hope and feelings. And Chibi Casca is just too cute.

Another great, of course, manga from master Kentaro Miura (but I still hate you).


 
 

In This Corner of the World




Good adaptation
Gruic April 10, 2019, 12:04 ET

In This Corner of the World is a good adaptation of the famous manga by Fumiyo Kōno. We still have the nice 2D soft characters and the imagination of Suzu is very well translated here.

A very good movie.


 
 

Captain Marvel




Very... average
Gruic March 11, 2019, 12:03 ET

This movie has a lot of trouble to find an identity. Captain Marvel is not a very good science fiction movie, not a very good funny movie, not a very good drama movie...

The story is awkward, the directing does not have relief.

I am not convinced.

That said, I don't think that Brie Larson is the problem here, and I'm very happy to have more Clark Gregg on the MCU.


 
 

4-D

The X-Files


Tribute to Agent Reyes
Gruic February 12, 2019, 12:02 ET

Long time ago, I liked the episode but on the same time I was sad that's that was not Scully and Mulder during the last scene. Today, after season 10 and 11, I'm very glad that Reyes and Doggett could have that very special moment together.

Skinner on the field is amazing, that's sad they had to cut 2 scenes of him.

Lukesh is a good character. Slaughterer, giving tongues to his mother... he is like a preadator we could find on a MillenniuM episode.

The music is amazing. The theme song "Pulling the Plug" by, of course, Mark Snow, is one of my favourite of the whole series.

A very good episode.


 
 

Final Fantasy VI




Almost perfect ?
Gruic February 11, 2019, 12:02 ET

Well,

It's very difficult to make a review of Final Fantasy VI. It's truly a legend.

14 amazing main characters, not only humans but also Yeti or moogle... and great temporairly characters like Ghosts. A standing background and storyline. An absolute villain. Musics from another time and dimension by an outstanding Nobuo Uematsu. An opera on a 16bits support ? That's impossible, that's why he made it.

The level design is inspired and interesting.

So, any weakness in this masterpiece?
In fact, the first Super Nes version is lacking of endgame stuff. Time was running out and that's the reason why great dungeons like Dragon's Den were missing. But the team finally added endgame stuff on the Game Boy Advance version. So this version could be a perfection... if the song was better. But bad song is more the problem of the support than the problem of the actual game.
I finished FFVI on Super Famicom, Super Nes, playstation and GBA only. Maybe it's better on latest versions ?

Well, let's say perfection does not exist in this lowly world, but FFVI is very close to be that perfection.

Timeless classic.


 
 

12x1: Resurgence




Plaster on our wound
Gruic January 31, 2019, 12:01 ET

"Can one of you explain to me what the hell is going on?" -Kersh-

Yep. Chris Carter does not know his mythology and did shit with My Struggle IV. At least some fans tries to deal with CC mess.

Resurgence is that kind of work.


 
 

Dragon Ball Super: Broly




Big Event, Bad 3D
Gruic January 26, 2019, 12:01 ET

Movie theater.
First things first, Dragon Ball Super: Broly is a movie you need to see on a big screen. It's a quite spectacular show, that's for sure. In my opinion, the best thing in Broly is the sound. Sound impacts are very powerful and immersive and it's just perfect at the movie theater, surrounding by the fandom, dads with sons, for a multi-generational moment.

Story.
The first part of the movie is good. Like very good. It starts with an adaptation of the extra manga Dragon Ball Minus with the addition of Broly and Paragus. Yep, another villain recycle. The canon starts to integrate non-canonical characters and it's not very creative.
And that's pretty much it. After that, Team-Toriyama just gives fans what they want and it's usually a bad idea.

Visual.
During the first hour, the directing is very inspiring and strong. There are 3D effects here and there, but only for objects or sceneries. And then... shit happens. During the fight Goku VS Broly, character starts to be in 3D as well. The staff tries to hide that with a very aggressive directing and everything turns into shit. After a very good hour, the last part of the movie is a mess, makes in a hurry.

No blood, of course. Because everybody knows that showing blood to the new generation will instantly turn children into unstable murderers and rapists.

Characters.
As usual, Goku, Vegeta, Beerus, Whis and Piccolo are just self-parodies. Toriyama is offering his vision of the character of Broly and... it's ok. I think. I enjoyed some moments with new characters as well as the Cold family and army scenes. Well. Let's say I loved it, because, you know, the first part of the movie is amazing.

For the first time since his birth, Gohan is absent from a Dragon Ball film (Bardock is not a film), as well as Krillin, a super regular character in films as well (with minor exceptions), and that's very sad. Since it's back, writers want us to believe that Dragon Ball is the story of Goku and his side-kick Vegeta. It's not. Dragon Ball is the story of Goku and his friends/family, Saiyans, humans, 3eyes, Namekians, majins... the Z-Team!

At least, writers can't fuck with Gohan if he is not in it, right ?

So, 7/10 for the first part, 3/10 for the last one, it's a 5/10.


 
 

Pandemonium

The Good Place


poignant
Gruic January 25, 2019, 12:01 ET

As usual, the season finale is excellent.

Poignant, with smart philosophical reflexion. The Good Place is doing a good job in regards to the Popularization of Philosophy.

I wil watch the next season for sure.


 
 

Chidi Sees the Time-Knife

The Good Place


Creative
Gruic January 20, 2019, 12:01 ET

Incredibly creative, or I should say (re)creative.

And rebooting.

Always on the move.


 
 

Creed II




DRAGO!!!!
Gruic January 14, 2019, 12:01 ET

Creed II is both a sequel of Rocky IV as well as a plagiarism. The story of Rocky IV was very weak, it was more a great music clip than a standard movie (and musics from Rocky IV are masterpieces).

Following that legacy, Creed II is more spectacular and less smart than the first Creed, but musics are amazing.

If you want to use the Drago legacy and characters for a movie, you have to do it that way.


 
 

Geheimnisse

Dark


Beautiful
Gruic January 14, 2019, 12:01 ET

It's very enjoyable to live in a century where it's possible to watch series from so many countries on original languages with subtitles, and it was very cool to see a new series from Germany.

Dark is like a German version of Twin Peaks. Visually beautiful with great musics. It may take a couple of episodes to start enjoying the mythology of the show, but keep watching, you'll like the journey.


 
 

Episode 1.1

Sex Education


Unexpectedly good
Gruic January 13, 2019, 12:01 ET

Laurie Nunn did her homework. Sex Education is not a stupid series about sex cliché like we can think with the bad trailer and poster. It's in fact a good writing with a smart directing. Each character could be one of my friend back in the day, with identity or search for identity, and the story is also dealing very cleverly with the new era of communication. In fact, sex is not that much the main subject of the show (but it deals with it nicely), but it also act as a bridge to other topics, like expectations on our children and how they have to live with that.

I started to watch for Gillian Anderson, and now I'm watching for all the other great cast and crew.

A good pilote, and other episodes are better.


 
 

Meeting Monica




Logical
Gruic January 7, 2019, 12:01 ET

I always like, in Spookygirl1 fanfics, how the story fit into the canon of the official mythology of The X-Files. It's more like missing pieces than invention from nowhere.

"Agent Reyes, its John Doggett. Sorry about the hour, but I need your help"

Yep, that's Agent Doggett.


 
 

Doggett and Scully's New Year




Always good to have more Doggett
Gruic January 3, 2019, 12:01 ET

Doggett was a very damn good character. I miss him. It's cool to have him on fan stories, and this one is good.


 
 

When Fox Met Dana




Solid
Gruic January 3, 2019, 12:01 ET

A solid work and an interesting point of view. A simple not-a-date date, and simplicity is oftenly the best thing.


 
 

Final Fantasy V




Let's go Boco !
Gruic January 3, 2019, 12:01 ET

Following the FAMICOM tradition, after a background characters Final fantasy IV, we're back again with a job system Final Fantasy. But this time, it's more like a fusion between FFII and III. The hero "Bartz" is still the incarnation of the player, but other characters have dialogues and a story.

The mastering system is very nice and motivates the player to level multiple jobs. The game is hard, in a very good way, with very difficult battle. It also has very epic moments, like Galuf VS Xdeath, which is absolutely stunning. That's also the beginning of the fanbase of Gilgamesh and his incredible theme "Clash/battle on a big bridge" by a strong Nobuo Uematsu. I will always remember that very moment where I was running on the bridge, chaining battles on this music.

An unforgettable moment.


 
 

Scully's Christmas




Merry Christmas
Gruic December 24, 2018, 12:12 ET

A good way to say "Merry Christmas".


 
 

Akira




Classic
Gruic December 21, 2018, 12:12 ET

Otomo classic work changed the world of art forever.


 
 

May Fools




Bruno Carette FTW
Gruic December 15, 2018, 12:12 ET

30 years after the death of Bruno Carette, I'm still sad thinking about what French cinema could have been if he was alive today.

A brilliant actor in the making.

That said, "Milou en mai" is a very sweet movie with some fun moments.


 
 

Fear City: A Family-Style Comedy




Perfect
Gruic December 15, 2018, 12:12 ET

The perfect synthesis of the charm of the Canal+ spirit in the 80s. There are so many hidden gags on each sequence that you have to watch it dozens of times to hope to see them all, including into the end credits

I stil know the film by heart.


 
 

Acceptation




Fair
Gruic November 29, 2018, 12:11 ET

A good one.

The vision of the characters seems correct and quite mastered.


 
 

Queequeg's Adventures




Original
Gruic November 28, 2018, 12:11 ET


That fanfic was very enjoyable. I like the idea and the vocabulary.

In another dimension, maybe Vince Gilligan or Darin Morgan wrote an episode about Queequeg.

Very refreshing.


 
 

The Curse of Frank Black

Millennium


Timeless
Gruic November 22, 2018, 12:11 ET

Each year, during festivals, I choose a classic book, film, episode, whatever related to that festival and I read or watch it again.

This year, for Halloween, I chose to rewatch The Curse of Frank Black from MillenniuM classic 1013 production.

I haven't seen it for years and yet, it's still an outstanding work. Lance Henriksen is great, Dean Winters, the amazing and timeless Ryan O'Reily in Oz is, well, amazing of course, and Ralph Hemecker delivered a nice directing of a perfect script by Glen Morgan and Jim Wong.

What else ? All the good stuff of the 1013 is in it. 1997 ? What an awesome creative year.


 
 

Don't Let the Good Life Pass You By

The Good Place


Michael McKean!
Gruic November 16, 2018, 12:11 ET


Oh, Michael McKean in The Good Place, and on the role of the famous Doug Forcett ?! As a x-phile and a 1013 fan, I'm perfectly fine with it.

A good episode.


 
 

The Worst Possible Use of Free Will

The Good Place


Free will
Gruic November 9, 2018, 12:11 ET

A very good episode with smart discussions about free will and determinism.

Oh, and Eleanor and the lizard are both very cute. The way Kristen Bell keep playing while the lizard rides on his head proves how good she is.


 
 

For Love

Castlevania


Amazing
Gruic November 6, 2018, 12:11 ET

Obviously the best episode of the series and the most anticipated fight between Dracula and his son Alucard.

The use of the official song "Bloody Tears" from the original Castlevania game-series is simply gorgeous. Storyboard and choregraphy are amazing, everything just works.

Congratulations to the staff.

Brilliant.


 
 

War Council

Castlevania


Average season premiere
Gruic November 6, 2018, 12:11 ET

Season 2 of Castlevania starts with a slower pace. We meet the army of Dracula, especially Hector, Isaac and Godbrand, a character created for the series and probably a stooge for the others characters.

Like the previous season, the animation during dialogue scenes lacks of finesse but it is always with great pleasure that we follow a real 2D animation instead of 3D or cel-shading.


 
 

Two Storms

The Haunting of Hill House


Holy shit
Gruic October 23, 2018, 12:10 ET

Wait, what ?

I wasn't expecting that. I mean, Mike Flanagan is a good director, but that good ? I didn't see that coming.

That was insane. In a good way. It was like Triangle from The X-Files all over again, with long takes serving scenes behind closed doors.

Actors are great, horror is mastering. I especially love the change of position of the statues out of camera.

I was blown away by that outstanding work.


 
 

The Bent-Neck Lady

The Haunting of Hill House


Nell fate
Gruic October 23, 2018, 12:10 ET


At last, we follow the character of Eleanor Vance, alias Nell, and we learn some truth about the bent neck lady.

The episode succeded to offer some revelations while keeping the mystery intact between the supernatural and the mental illnees. The sleep paralysis scenes are very good and real.

A very good episode.


 
 

The Twin Thing

The Haunting of Hill House


Interesting
Gruic October 21, 2018, 12:10 ET


It's interesting to have the point of view of twin Luke now. I like the structure of the show.


 
 

Jeremy Bearimy

The Good Place


Everything is going to change... again
Gruic October 19, 2018, 12:10 ET

I already wrote it on my last review, but I love how everything is always changing in The Good Place. No Status Quo, no easy comfort zone for the writers, the show is always evolving and we never know what will happen next week. And I really want to congratulate authors for that.

Each character is facing the truth. Chidi has a mental breackdown when Eleanor simply understood why making people happy is a reward in itself.

It feels right.


 
 

Touch

The Haunting of Hill House


Way better!
Gruic October 17, 2018, 12:10 ET

All horror scenes work. No bad computer effects this time.

The character of Theodora Crain is very interesting and young Luke is excellent too. Can't wait to see a point of view episode about him. Probably the next episode because it seems each episode is about a child, from the oldest to the youngest.

Nice.


 
 

Open Casket

The Haunting of Hill House


Mixed feeling
Gruic October 17, 2018, 12:10 ET

Oh... sadly, the "horror" moments including the insect does not work at all. The computer effet ruins it. It does not feel real, so it does not work.

That said, regular scenes are good.


 
 

Steven Sees a Ghost

The Haunting of Hill House


Good atmosphere
Gruic October 17, 2018, 12:10 ET

An interesting pilote. I like the idea of having Mike Flanagan directing all the episodes. He created the show, he has a vision and he can explore it.

Michiel Huisman was great and relevant in Treme, I'm happy to be able to have more Michiel on television. Others starring are good too, and children well chosen.

We also have Annabeth Gish as a very good guest starring.

The photography is good and has inspiration.

A good start.


 
 

Season finale

Better Call Saul


Powerful
Gruic October 14, 2018, 12:10 ET


I'm still not sure about the season, I think you can deal with the difficult and strange grief of Jimmy with less episodes. That was great, that was smart, but it takes maybe too many episodes.

That said, this episode was powerful, leading by great actors and a good directing.

Season 5 has to be the last one. And it needs to be great, for the sake of the whole series.


 
 

Wiedersehen

Better Call Saul


Yare yare
Gruic October 14, 2018, 12:10 ET


I have the same feeling than all the other episodes of the second part of the season. But it smells good for the end of the season.

And actors are great, as usual.


 
 

Coushatta

Better Call Saul


Long
Gruic October 14, 2018, 12:10 ET


As for the previous episode, I like it but it's less powerful each week. Good scenes, good trial, but I'm pretty sure I'll forget everything in a week. I saw a lot of series with lower pace, less events but FAR FAR FAR way more powerful and with more substances than these episodes.

I like Vince Gilligan, especially his work on The X-Files. He made great episodes. He is a very nice creator. I'm not a big fan of him, but I respect his work. He can do better.


 
 

Something Stupid

Better Call Saul


Average
Gruic October 14, 2018, 12:10 ET


I like every single scenes, especially the very brilliant first scene.

But.

But I'm not sure I like the whole thing. It's hard to see the point.

I think we could have the same result with less episodes.


 
 

Final Fantasy IV




5 badass characters on-screen!
Gruic October 13, 2018, 12:10 ET

FFI : job system
FFII : background characters
FFIII : job system

I see a pattern here, and a good one.

So, Final Fantasy IV is logically a background characters game. Heroes have names and stories and it is a very good improvement of FFII.

The evolution of the hero, Cecil Harvey, is very interesting and the others characters work very well too. For example, Kain is a fantastic character and a great evolution of the Dragoon Ricaro/Richard from FFII. Yoshikata Amano made an amazing work on the logo and characters.

The system of Final Fantasy IV is very simple. Characters are getting experience points and levels and your team is constantly evolving, depending on the storyline. To compensate that simple system, FFIV added one more playable character on the team. 5 instead of 4 on previous titles and I really enjoyed that.

Finally, the place of the final boss is very creative and original.

FFIV is an incredible game and a superb Final Fantasy.


 
 

The Snowplow

The Good Place


Not bad, not good,something in between
Gruic October 13, 2018, 12:10 ET


In my opinion, The Snowplow is an average episode. It feels like characters become parody of themself sometimes. The rich is richer, the poor is poorer, the dumb is dumber...

That said, I still enjoying how the story is constantly changing. There is no stagnation in The Good Place and I would like to congratulate the authors for that.


 
 


Next >

 About Us    Contact Us    Terms and Conditions    Privacy Policy
© 2019 tvore.com