LOGINJOIN



    
Jack Anderson

⚜ Emperor (4,228 points)

 Following / Followers     Reviews     Series     Movies     Watchlist     Books     Albums     Games     Fanfics     Posts   
 Send a Message  Follow

Reviews

Toy Story 3




Outstanding
Jack Anderson June 18, 2019, 12:06 ET

VISUALLY
The very first thing that strikes your mind when watching Toy Story 3 is how much CGIs have evolved in a decade. Released eleven years after Toy Story 2, the difference is seen from the very first frame. Everything is so perfect. The texture of the purple bear Lazlo for instance is insane!

MANY NEW CHARACTERS
While Toy Story 2 was introducing a handful of great characters, Toy Story 3 is introducing tens and tens of new ones! The result is actually excellent. They are all so cute that they are all great.

BEYOND
Toy Story 3 proves that Toy Story is much more than you'd think. Many people know about Toy Story but have never actually seen the movies. Toy Story 3 is such a wonderful film. Everything works perfectly.

ENDING
The ending of the film is simply epic. Who would have guessed than a story on toys could go so far into living. Ironically, it takes toys to understand the nature of human beings.
The moment we believe we are in front of the fate of the toys and that they take their hands is... well I won't use any words, as I cannot describe how emotional this scene made me.

SUMMARY
I give it 9 out of 10. Outstanding.


 
 

This Little Piggy

Family Guy


Boring
Jack Anderson June 17, 2019, 12:06 ET

A boring episode about Meg.


 
 

Our Idiot Brian

Family Guy


Good
Jack Anderson June 17, 2019, 12:06 ET

Good


 
 

A Fistful of Meg

Family Guy


Average
Jack Anderson June 17, 2019, 12:06 ET

Gross but watchable.


 
 

The One with the Screamer

Friends


The One with Ben Stiller
Jack Anderson June 17, 2019, 12:06 ET

A very good episode, starring Ben Stiller as The Screamer!


 
 

The One with the Chick and the Duck

Friends


Very good
Jack Anderson June 17, 2019, 12:06 ET

I really liked the chick.


 
 

Brian the Closer

Family Guy


Good
Jack Anderson June 17, 2019, 12:06 ET

This 13th season is starting very well. I liked this Brian-centric episode.

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 

Toy Story 2




Rescue Mission II
Jack Anderson June 16, 2019, 12:06 ET

RESCUE MISSION II
Released four years after the original film, Toy Story 2 is basically the same story from Toy Story, only in reverse. In the first film, Buzz went missing, which led Woody to the ultimate rescue mission. In this sequel, Woody is the one who is going missing and Buzz is looking for him. Also, in a similar way of Buzz learning about himself in Toy Story, Woody is also learning about himself in the sequel. This really is a mirror image of the first film.
But it works. It really does.

NEW CHARACTERS
The newly introduced characters that work very well. And that is not an easy task.

VISUALLY
Visually, the film is even more impressing than the first one. Some textures are really outstanding, such as the one of the horse. This is beyond just plastic.

EMOTIONS
Like in the first film, Toy Story 2 is not forgetting to provide the audience with its fair share of emotions. The topic is still rejection and we can only long for the lovely toys that are more human than humans.

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

He's Bla-ack!

Family Guy


Cleveland's Return
Jack Anderson June 16, 2019, 12:06 ET

After a failure at its own spin-off series The Cleveland Show, Cleveland is back in Family Guy. It is only welcomed, as both Family Guy and The Cleveland Show were not funny at the same time. So hopefully with Cleveland back, the series will be slightly less worse.

The episode is not great, but it really feels good to see Cleveland back.

SUMMARY
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 

No Country Club for Old Men

Family Guy


Final bad episode of a bad season
Jack Anderson June 16, 2019, 12:06 ET

Season 11 of Family Guy is without any doubt the worst season of the series so far. It’s not coincidence that the season finale is equally bad. This makes watching the show really boring and uninteresting, most of the time. I do believe the series should simply be cancelled. But since FOX doesn’t have lots of other series to show for, I guess they will keep the series on air for as long as they can. Quality doens’t matter anymore. Only the dollar sign.

SUMMARY
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 

Bigfat

Family Guy


I cannot stand this season
Jack Anderson June 16, 2019, 12:06 ET

This season is really, really bad. This episode was really annoying. It’s just about putting Peter in crazy situations and thinking it will be fun. But the problem is, it isn’t. At all.

SUMMARY
I give it 2 out of 10. Very bad.


 
 

Turban Cowboy

Family Guy


Boring
Jack Anderson June 16, 2019, 12:06 ET

A boring episode.


 
 

Jesus, Mary and Joseph!

Family Guy


Yay, Star Wars! NOT...
Jack Anderson June 16, 2019, 12:06 ET

I really dislike episodes of Family Guy telling a History famous story.

SUMMARY
I give it 2 out of 10. Very bad.


 
 

The Old Man and the Big 'C'

Family Guy


Cancer cure
Jack Anderson June 16, 2019, 12:06 ET

A good episode.


 
 

Roads to Vegas

Family Guy


Good
Jack Anderson June 16, 2019, 12:06 ET

A good Road to... episode.


 
 

Farmer Guy

Family Guy


Out of characters but fun
Jack Anderson June 16, 2019, 12:06 ET

I’m usually not a big fan of Family Guy episodes with the character doing uncharacteristic things. But I really had fun with this episode, especially the second half.

SUMMARY
I give it 6 out of 10. Very good. Finally a good episode this season.


 
 

Save the Clam

Family Guy


Bad
Jack Anderson June 15, 2019, 12:06 ET

A boring episode, again and again and again and again...


 
 

Toy Story




Groundbreaking!... with emotions
Jack Anderson June 15, 2019, 12:06 ET

Toy Story is a groundbreaking film. The very first

Watching it almost 25 years later and the film is still relevant and impeccable today. Sure, the human beings are a bit scary, but since this is an animation film, this fits nicely.

The great idea was to use toys, which work perfectly as CGI. But they not only feel true, they feel true as characters. The big part was to ensure the movie has emotions. And there's plenty of it to please the kids and their parents.

SUMMARY
I give it 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 

Call Girl

Family Guy


Boring
Jack Anderson June 15, 2019, 12:06 ET

I did not like this episode either. This 11th season is really boring.


 
 

Chris Cross

Family Guy


Disliked
Jack Anderson June 15, 2019, 12:06 ET

Nothing to say about this episode, except I did lot like it.


 
 

Valentine's Day in Quahog

Family Guy


Mess
Jack Anderson June 15, 2019, 12:06 ET

A messy episode with no conclusion for some sub-stories, such as the one with Quagmire.


 
 

The One with the Dollhouse

Friends


The One with the Mascara
Jack Anderson June 15, 2019, 12:06 ET

Three stories for this episode:
1. The doll-house. I did not like this sub-story and found it quite immature.
2. The relationship between Joey and his co-star. That was really fun.
3. Chandler and Joanna (Rachel's manager). That was also fun.

SUMMARY
Two fun stories and an immature one. I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 

Centrales nucléaire : démantèlement impossible




Enraging
Jack Anderson June 15, 2019, 12:06 ET

Watching documentaries on nuclear power plants enrages me every time. If our planet is not destroyed by then, thousands of years from now, children will look back on us and will not understand. Why would a society produce radioactive materials that will stay that way for hundreds of thousands of years?
How stupid is the premise of such project? Creating a system that is virtually impossible to dismantle. The concept itself is beyond stupid. This is asinine.

This documentary from the French/German TV station Arte is very interesting and

I learned in this documentary that in the 1960's, some toxic waste were simply thrown away... at sea. I don't have words for that.

SUMMARY
I give it 6 out of 10. A very good documentary.


 
 

The Giggity Wife

Family Guy


Uninteresting
Jack Anderson June 14, 2019, 12:06 ET

Boring and unbelievable. The scene with Peter and Quagmire was really too much.


 
 

Space Cadet

Family Guy


Meh
Jack Anderson June 14, 2019, 12:06 ET

I did not like this episode.


 
 

Yug Ylimaf

Family Guy


Brilliant
Jack Anderson June 14, 2019, 12:06 ET

A brilliant episode in which time runs backwards. This makes for a great excuse to revisit some favorite scenes from the series.

SUMMARY
I give it 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 

The One with the Tiny T-Shirt

Friends


The One Where Franky Say Relax
Jack Anderson June 13, 2019, 12:06 ET

Fun.


 
 

The One Without the Ski Trip

Friends


The One with the PLEH Sign
Jack Anderson June 13, 2019, 12:06 ET

Excellent.


 
 

The One the Morning After

Friends


Brilliantly sad
Jack Anderson June 13, 2019, 12:06 ET

This episode is brilliantly played and extremely sad.

SUMMARY
I give it 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 

The One with the Hypnosis Tape

Friends


The One Where Frank Jr. Finds Love
Jack Anderson June 13, 2019, 12:06 ET

A really cool episode, with three great stories:
- Frank Jr. falling for an older woman was as odd as fun.
- The tape.
- The character played by John Favreau, famously known to have directed Iron Man.

SUMMARY
I give it 6 out of 10. Very good.


 
 

Vichnaya Pamyat

Chernobyl


What is the cost of lies?
Jack Anderson June 12, 2019, 12:06 ET

I usually hate trials in series. They are usually completely stalling the story and are uninteresting at best.
This episode's main part is a trial. But the big difference with many others is that we actually get to learn the truth during the trial. It is not simply a gimmick put here to create a morale.
What I really enjoyed and did not expect was that the episode actually tells the part of the accident that we haven't seen. The 12 hours before it all went hell.
And this is brilliant because by telling the story this way, we now have spent more than four hours with the story and have all the elements to be able to process the final ones. The ones that really matter.
If we would have heard it in the beginning, things would not have been the same. This was simply the perfect way to tell the story.

While my focus when watching the mini-series is on nuclear-powered energy, the central aspect is about lies. And the bigger the lies, the bigger the explosion. As Valery Legasov explains at one point during the final episode, "Every lie we tell incurs a debt to the truth. Sooner or later, that debt is paid."

Not only we face the utter incompetence of some members of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant. But we then come to the even more important conclusion. The AZ-5 button that was supposed to shut down the reactor was also based on a lie, causing the reactor to turn into a nuclear mega-bomb.

This is the main morale of the story. That lies can only lead to despair. And that it takes courage to tell the truth. While this may sound simple, once any man or woman is put into a situation of group, with personal interests, things become much more difficult. Suddenly, you think about your own place in the game. And you start playing the game, even though you may despise it. It takes courage. And many men women had to die to fix the lies of just a few. That is the legacy of Chernobyl.

The second morale I see, is that in any system, failure will happen. This is inevitable. This is Murphy's law. Planes and cars will crash, boats will sink, and yes, nuclear reactors will explode. And while Chernobyl may have been the first, it is not the last. We all remember Fukushima. Fukushima will not be the last. As long as mankind will be as stupid as it is, it will continue to play with the tools of the gods. And the only consequence will be death.

Back to the mini-series, I really enjoyed it. It was mastered from beginning to finish and it was a perfect example of what television can be about.

SUMMARY
I give it 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 

The Happiness of All Mankind

Chernobyl


The Roof
Jack Anderson June 11, 2019, 12:06 ET

The central focus of this episode is on how to remove the graphite from the roof of the reactor. I had no idea that men had to physically go and run for 90 seconds each.

As for the analysis of who is to blame about the explosion of the reactor, while this is obviously important, I believe it is not as important as the overall picture. The overall picture, to me, is that Man should not be allowed to play with tools he cannot control. Period.

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

Open Wide, O Earth

Chernobyl


The Miners
Jack Anderson June 11, 2019, 12:06 ET

I once again really liked this episode. This feels like the ultimate thriller, because it is unfortunately real.

What was shocking was to see the ultimate sacrifice that so many Russians have made because of the ultimate mistake.

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

Please Remain Calm

Chernobyl


The Invisible Fight
Jack Anderson June 11, 2019, 12:06 ET

THE COVER-UP
At first, the Russian officials try to cover-up the catastrophe. But you cannot hide the worst nuclear crisis even known to mankind.

THE INVISIBLE DEMON
What is mind-blowing is the fact that they are fighting an invisible demon. While the average men do not understand it, the scientists know that this is a complete disaster.

WORSE THAN ANY NIGHTMARE
But then, we learn that the catastrophe is much worse than anticipated, and could lead to yet another mega explosion that would lead to the destruction of all the reactors, which would then spread on the continent and kill millions and make countries inhabitable for hundred of years.
I was definitely not aware that the catastrophe was much smaller than what could have been. This is so enraging that I still cannot believe that human beings would be so stupid as to build things they cannot control.
Imagine this, you create a system which provides you with lots of energy. But if it goes wrong, million dies. Would you do it? How stupid is that?

THE MISSION OF ALL MISSION
Then, three brave men agree to dive into radioactive water and empty some tanks that could cause a massive explosion. The episode ends on the three men facing a massive level of radioactive emissions, only to see their flashlights dying and leaving them in the dark. That was visually very interesting.

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

1:23:45

Chernobyl


Playing God
Jack Anderson June 10, 2019, 12:06 ET

SINCE THE DAWN OF MAN
I do not know where to begin. Probably I should start with the very beginning. With the big bang and the creation of time itself.
Homo Sapiens are walking this Planet since only 200,000 years approximately. And in only so little time compared to 4.6 billion years, man has evolved so quickly that is started to play with tools bigger and bigger, until they discovered nuclear power.
By that moment, man is playing God. Man is playing with tools so powerful that this can easily lead to the destruction of life itself. This only proves one of my theories. The end of evolution is destruction of life itself. Any final step of any process is its termination.

CHERNOBYL
And here comes Chernobyl. Everyone knows about the catastrophe of the Russian power plant from Chernobyl, but almost no one knows what actually happened. This eponymous mini-series from Amazon Prime is the depiction of that story, in five episodes of one hour each.

THE STORY
What I learned is that the main reason from the catastrophe. It happened because of an exercise that went wrong.
Second, in an era before social media and the Internet, it was decided to keep it a secret by cutting off the phone lines and sealing the city.

FUKUSHIMA
But while we could get shocked about this story and talk about it endlessly, I do believe that the main point is not actually Chernobyl. Chernobyl doesn't exist anymore, as a power plant. We all remember Fukushima. How many cataclysmic events do we need before ensuring that we don't play with things we cannot control? At the moment of me writing these words, there are currently 450 nuclear power reactors on our tiny little planet. I believe it is 450 ones too much. And I am really ashamed to be part of the same species that decides to build these atomic time bombs.
We have all been shocked when terrorists killed 3,000 lives on 9/11. How many lives would be destroyed if someone decided to hijack a plane and crash it into an old nuclear plant? How many more lives will need to die? How many more...
History keeps on repeating itself. And I strongly believe that Chernobyl and Fukushima will not be the only ones on the list. This is statistically impossible. And death is inevitable, if we don't act NOW.

SOUNDTRACK
On a more technical level, the soundtrack of the first episode – and I imagine the entire series – is very clever. There is no melodies or anything of the sort. The soundtrack is rough, with equally rough sounds.

ENGLISH
The main problem is very tangible. The actors do not speak Russian. And it may be very dumb to say that I believe a mini-series on Chernobyl should be re-enacted by Russian actors. Especially in today's globalized world, where everyone can easily add subtitles when streaming a series.

CORELESS
A big focus of the episode is on the apparatchik and other leaders of the plant not believing what has actually happened – that the core no longer exists. I do wonder if it really happened that way and if it was exaggerated. I'll probably search for more information and perhaps find a book or a documentary about this subject, as I am very much interested about nuclear, but with little knowledge of it all.

SUMMARY
I give it 8 out of 10. It was truly superb. But I won't give it an 9, as I do believe that it could have been told in an even more visual way.


 
 

Brian's a Bad Father

Family Guy


Brian's son
Jack Anderson June 10, 2019, 12:06 ET

The part with Brian and his son was interesting. But the rest was completely awful. Truly bad. I cannot stand Peter in some episodes and this is such example. Also, the characters in these seasons do completely out of characters things such as shooting at each others.

SUMMARY
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 

The Heartbreak Dog

Family Guy


Redundant
Jack Anderson June 10, 2019, 12:06 ET

Bonnie already had an affair in Paris and we once again face a similar episode, even though this one is really not interesting.

Also, I did not believe that Brian could simply steal Joe's wife like that and just leave everything. I understand this is a cartoon, but characters need to stay true anyway.

SUMMARY
I give it 2 out of 10. Very bad.


 
 

Inside Family Guy

Family Guy


Pointless
Jack Anderson June 10, 2019, 12:06 ET

The episode’s premise was definitely interesting, but I did not find any jokes funny.

SUMMARY
I give it 2 out of 10. Very bad.


 
 

12 and a Half Angry Men

Family Guy


22 boring minutes
Jack Anderson June 10, 2019, 12:06 ET

The episode’s premise was great – a parody of the cult movie 12 Angry Men. The only problem is that not a single joke was funny. Not one. Peter was overly annoying and the only thing I kept thinking was how much I’d much prefer watching 12 Angry Men than having to sit through bad jokes.

SUMMARY
I give it 2 out of 10. Very bad. An awful parody.


 
 

Brian's Play

Family Guy


Interesting
Jack Anderson June 10, 2019, 12:06 ET

I liked this episode. It’s normal, it was a Brian-centric episode after all.


 
 

Friends Without Benefits

Family Guy


Good
Jack Anderson June 10, 2019, 12:06 ET

A good episode. The story about Meg having a crush on a boy was quite fun to watch.

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 

Lois Comes Out of Her Shell

Family Guy


Lois filler
Jack Anderson June 10, 2019, 12:06 ET

I don't like Lois, therefore, I did not like this episode.
The second story with the turtle was not funny either.

Once again, the series should have half the number of episodes each season, like BoJack Horseman. That would be much more interesting and we would not need to sit through fillers like this one.

SUMMARY
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 

The Entire History of You

Black Mirror


Boredom
Jack Anderson June 10, 2019, 12:06 ET

Once again, an entirely boring episode from Black Mirror. I believe that the format is really not working. Episodes should not last for more than 43 minutes.
More importantly, I find the acting in the series totally awful.

Once again, the idea of the episode was interesting, but I think that the execution was really poorly made.

SUMMARY
I give it 2 out of 10. Very bad.


 
 

Fifteen Million Merits

Black Mirror


Saturation of TV series
Jack Anderson June 10, 2019, 12:06 ET

I am only two episodes into the show and I really dislike Black Mirror. While the concept is interesting, I usually do not like technology in movies. The result is often either very poor or very silly. In this case, I think it was both.

Obviously, Black Mirror is having high production values, the only problem is that I am not able to immerse myself into the stories, at least that far.

At least, there were no pigs harmed in this episode, thank God.

SUMMARY
I give it 2 out of 10. Very bad.


 
 

The National Anthem

Black Mirror


Sex with a pig
Jack Anderson June 10, 2019, 12:06 ET

I kept hearing about Black Mirror, so I popped the pilot episode and I hope that the first episode does not give justice to the series, because, oh boy, did I hate that first episode...

(TOO) DRAMATIC
The main complaint about this episode is the overly dramatized tone. The Prime Minister is having a very weak body language and overall attitude, which is quite not believable. Any politician at this level would not act this way, at least that's my view. Should I remind anyone that UK is the 5th most powerful country on Earth?

THE PIG
Also, I think that the episode could have worked with a less exaggerated demand. Just imagine this, instead of having sex with a pig, he would have to have sex with his wife. Suddenly, things would become much more interesting and believable.
The pig was, to me, too far fetched and made the story not believable whatsoever. Any politician would not even consider it, whatever the polls say, whatever the advisers say, whatever anyone says. This is so obvious that, once again, it made really the episode not only unbelievable but really silly.
The scene with the Prime Minister entering the room with the pig is an instant jump the shark moment to me, which is very ironic as this is the pilot episode.
But, since the series is actually telling a complete different story each time, then at least the good part is that it can be totally different in the next episode. And I believe it will.

SUMMARY
I give it 1 out of 10. Beyond bad. The pig was a silly idea and while it was intentional, it does not work to its full extent.


 
 

Joe's Revenge

Family Guy


Gayjacked!
Jack Anderson June 9, 2019, 12:06 ET

Not a great episode. The part with Joe was watchable, but the one with the cat was really, really uninteresting.

But there were 30 awesome seconds, with the plane getting gayjacked sequence! That was just hilarious. "This plane's going to Miami!!"

SUMMARY
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 

Christmas Guy

Family Guy


Brian's back
Jack Anderson June 9, 2019, 12:06 ET

In yet another countless Christmas special, the writers used this as an opportunity to revive Brian. All the fuss for him not being present in only one episode? I think it would have been much more interesting if he had died during a season finale.

Meanwhile, the rest of the episode is totally boring and uninteresting.

SUMMARY
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 

Into Harmony's Way

Family Guy


Catchy stupid songs
Jack Anderson June 9, 2019, 12:06 ET

The episode is actually fun, only for the totally stupid and equally catchy tunes from Peter and Quagmire.

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 

Life of Brian

Family Guy


Death of Brian
Jack Anderson June 9, 2019, 12:06 ET

BRIAN'S DEATH
This is the well-known episode where Brian dies. I think that it worked very well and made for a very emotional scenes. The one with the family around Brian on his death bed was really well done.

JUMP THE DOG?
Many refer to this episode as the moment when the series jumped the shark. But looking back, I can only appreciate the writers to try to shake things around. Brian is to me the best character of Family Guy and since I know that the character will be back in a couple of episodes, I can only think that this was a nice idea.

HONESTY
But still, I understand why some fans disliked this episode and felt betrayed. In a dramatic series, you could come off with killing off a character and brining him/her back from the dead in an intelligent way, but then there are ways that don't work.
For instance, I disliked the return of Jon Snow from the dead in Game of Thrones. He simply came back and that was it. Nothing else. This felt like a cheap trick. I remember as a kid watching MacGyver and seeing the evil Murdoch coming back from the dead every season or so. This felt cheap. In the early episodes from The X-Files, there was an excitement to see characters coming back to life, but after a certain point, this was simply ridiculous. At least in LOST, when Locke came back from the dead, things were nicely done and we learned that it wasn't actually John Locke.
Once again, it's all about hard work and honesty. Whether this was honest in Family Guy remains to be seen in the next episodes.

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

Baking Bad

Family Guy


Peter's Wife's Cookies
Jack Anderson June 9, 2019, 12:06 ET

The episode is interesting and enjoyable. What was fun was to see the transformation of the cookie business into a strip joint.

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 


Next >

 About Us    Contact Us    Terms and Conditions    Privacy Policy
© 2019 tvore.com