×
LOGINJOIN



   News
   TV
   Movies
   Books
   Music
   Games
   Fanfics
   Sagas
   Stars
   Store
   Forums
NEWS   TV   MOVIES   BOOKS   MUSIC   GAMES   FANFICS   SAGAS   STARS   STORE   FORUMS
  
LOGINJOIN

Jack Anderson

🌟 Glowing Star (2,665 points)
 Following / Followers     Reviews     Series     Movies     Watchlist     Books     Albums     Games     Fanfics     Posts   
 Send a Message  Follow
Reviews

CQB
The Expanse
Jack Anderson March 24, 2019, 12:03 ET

This episode was visually interesting, especially the ending, with some definitely ambitious special effects. I was surprised to experience such a quality scene in a relatively small TV series.
My only problem with the series so far is that I am not a big fan of the secluded environment. Obviously, we are in Space and it is supposed to be that way, I get it. But we have not a single scene really taking place outside and while the sets are well crafted, I'd love to take a breath of fresh air in the nature.

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 

Fucking Kassovitz
Jack Anderson March 22, 2019, 12:03 ET

This making-of is excellent. It tells the story of French filmmaker Mathieu Kassovitz, who wants to film a Hollywood film and miserably fails.

From the start, Kassovitz blames everyone, I mean everyone. The crew is bad, the lead actor is bad, the
Instead of saying that perhaps he did not insuflate the appropriate energy nor provided the right attitude, he simply screams at people (only the less important people, mostly the set crew) and always leaves a minute after screaming, without actually finding any solution to the actual problem. I found him totally unprofessional and very disrespectful. At one point, you can see him taking drawings and destroying those in front of the crew.
Just compare it with the calm and methodical approach from filmmaker Christopher Nolan, as an example, and you’ll understand what it means to be a professional director.

Kassovitz is so bad that it becomes dangerous, with stunts going extremely bad or explosions taking place before it should.

As a project manager, I have seen many projects run exactly like this. A total lack of ownership, no proper planning, poor execution. If I had to rate the maturity level of his production, I would easily rate it as 1 out of 5, being fire fighting mode. Having no grasp on things, he simply screams and achieves nothing.

What is extremely interesting is that at the very end of the making-of, he even goes so far as to say that he does not even see when he did anything wrong.

Everyone will gladly say that Mathieu Kassovitz directed an excellent film, La Haine. The only problem is that he was never able to direct a great film after that. This documentary is just an example of that. He should focus on directing small but personal films, where he can show his artistic talent and use his agile methodology. Blockbusters film require lots and lots of planning and hard work. In a way, it’s more difficult to direct Terminator than La Haine.

The morale of the story is that I would prefer to kill myself than to have to work one day with Mathieu Kassovitz and I hope he’s never allowed again to shoot a film.

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

Remember the Cant
The Expanse
Jack Anderson March 21, 2019, 12:03 ET

I found this episode to be very similar to the pilot and not as interesting as the second one.

SUMMARY
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 

The Big Empty
The Expanse
Jack Anderson March 19, 2019, 12:03 ET

I must admit that I had trouble following the opening episode. It went into lots of different directions and I felt overwhelmed by the many characters, peculiar locations and couldn't quite understand what was the main storyline.
Here, the pace is much calmer and the episode much more focused. I found great pleasure watching the first part of the episode, for instance seeing that the detective had no more water available and then found some while investigating. Unlike movies like Avatars, there's no fancy precious metal to find, air and water are the precious gold of living in Space and it seems so logical that I find it ironic that it is the first time I see this in a TV series.
Instead of being told about things, we get to experience those and this is always the better approach.

Finally, the episode ends on a nice cliffhanger. Damn, I want to know what happens next!

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 

Sink or Swim
Jack Anderson March 18, 2019, 12:03 ET

I don't know why, but I was interested by the concept of putting famous French actors in a swimming pool. Said like this, I know that sounds dumb, and it probably is, but when I heard that the movie had such a big success, I patiently waited for it to be available on download. Months later, I watched it and I was really unimpressed. The characters were really, really not believable and this is, to me, yet another Parisian film made with good intentions but failing to be either a good drama or a good comedy. At the end, it achieves neither. Two hours of clever directing from Gilles Lellouche, which is not more believable behind that in front of the camera.

SUMMARY
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 

Fahrenheit 11/9
Jack Anderson March 17, 2019, 12:03 ET

SOMEWHAT OF A SEQUEL
Fifteen years after his groundbreaking film Fahrenheit 9/11, which won the Palme d'Or, Michael Moore is back with a kind of a sequel, Fahrenheit 11/9. The numbers are now switched and represent the day that Donald Trump was elected President of the United States of America.
While the film opens in a similar way as the first one, it never gets to this same quality level, the reason is that, once again, Moore goes too far into one direction and depicts the Hillary Clinton supporters as angels and the Trump supporters are evils.

NOT ABOUT TRUMP
By looking at the trailer and poster, I thought that this movie was about Donald Trump. Boy was I wrong. Sure, we see him throughout the film, but most of the film is actually not about Trump.

A BIG MESS
Instead of focusing on one single topic, Moore moves from one to another without providing much details about them. Trump's election, the Flint water scandal, teachers strikes, gun controls, etc. Ironically, he is extremely virulent at The New York Times, but his journalistic work is quite narrow.

FLINT WATER CRISIS
The only part that I actually really liked was the sequence on the Flint water crisis. At least there, for a short while, the filmmaker focuses his energy and tells a real story.

POPULISM vs DESPOTISM
So, we move throughout the film without really understanding what Trump has made wrong. For instance, instead of having a real and solid story on the immigration reforms from Trump and their effects at the border, we have an image of Nazis splitting a mother and a kid on some sound from the border.
Which brings me to the worst part of the film, and to me of the entire career from Moore. I really like Michael Moore. I have watched all of his films, I have bought his DVD's when I was a teenager, I had even bought some of his books, such as Stupid White Men.
But "Fahrenheit 11/9" is not a film that I can support. Actually, I think it even does exactly what it is supposed to be criticizing.
In the last part of the film, Michael Moore tries to compare both the US Republican Party with the Nazi regime from the 1930's. The result is beyond bad and made me feel terribly bad for Moore. Suddenly, Donald Trump is like Adolf Hitler. The comparison is so utterly bad that I couldn't believe what I saw. Actually, I knew the first reviews were bad, and at this moment I understood why.

A SHAME
This is a shame, because Michael Moore is a great filmmaker. Fahrenheit 9/11 and SiCKO are masterpieces and reaching a totally different level than this documentary.

WHAT HE SHOULD HAVE DONE
Going back, I think that Moore tried to go at the big fish instead of focusing on maybe a different story, a more interesting story. I think the water crisis from Flint would have been an excellent topic for a full documentary.

SUMMARY
I give it 1 out of 10. The worst Michael Moore film, by far.


 
 

Home Alone 2: Lost in New York
Jack Anderson March 17, 2019, 12:03 ET

Home Alone 2 is a very good sequel. It does exactly the job and gives to the audience a bit more, so that we don't go through exactly the same as in the original film. If Home Alone 2 would have taken place literally at home, I think it would have been just redundant and not interesting.
Here, we have the pleasure to enjoy watching New York in the early 90's. And watching it today and seeing Macaulay Culkin at the top of the World Trade Center is obviously quite an emotional scene.
The only regret is that the film is a bit too long (2 hours) and that the final part with the two bad guys is a bit déjà vu and too childish to me.

SUMMARY
Still, a fun and enjoyable film. I give it 4 out of 10. Average, but still better than the previous film, even if I give both the same rating.


 
 

Dulcinea
The Expanse
Jack Anderson March 17, 2019, 12:03 ET

I discovered The Expanse through my friend Kimmy and thought I'd watch at least the pilot episode. I must say I do not consider myself as a fan of science fiction, but at the same time I am fascinated by Space and a few Sci-Fi movies are in my all time favorite films list.

SCIENCE
What I like most in science-fiction is the science aspect of it. What I mean by that is that I usually can only believe in a story when it lays within the realms of reality. That is why I loved deeply The X-Files series (at least in the beginning). The stories were carved within reality. Here, the series opens with an introduction text laying the foundation of that reality. We are in the 23rd century, we have colonized the Solar System. It's not about aliens coming up from the surface of the Moon, we're talking about real stuff here.

BORING
But, at the same time, ultra-realism within science fiction can be extremely boring. Senate resolutions with Jar-Jar Binks, anyone?
Here, I must say that I was quite bored throughout the pilot episode. I failed to understand what was the real story. There are too many things, it's too vast, and there is not a clear simplicity. Too many characters to go through too. And the series being so ambitious, we get countless CGI special effects, to such an extent when I wasn't impressed at all.

But, this is way too soon to judge a TV series of already four seasons and the beginning of the series intrigued me a lot.

SUMMARY
I give it 4 out of 10. Average. I felt lost in Space and will probably need to rewrite this review once (or if) I watch more episodes.

Oh, and there was a sex scene in gravity! First time I see that.


 
 

The Millionaire Next Door
Jack Anderson March 16, 2019, 12:03 ET

The Millionaire Next Door is an outstanding study about millionaires. The authors interviewed many millionaires for years and even though the book was released in 1996, it is still entirely relevant today.
The excellent title perfectly summarizes the book. We all have this idea that millionaires are driving Porsches, living in big mansions and wearing Armani suits or Dior dresses. While this may be true for the famous Hollywood actors or football athletes, we never hear about the vast majority of millionaires, which are depicted in this book.
I love one of the anecdotes where the authors explained that they organized a meeting with millionaires and had traiteurs and champagne and fancy wines, only to see the first invitee arriving and asking for a cold pop and a beer. This says it all.
There's also an excellent comparison. Most people you see jogging in the street are very fit and therefore don't actually need to become fit. Could the same be said for millionaires? If they became millionaires, it is because they saved a lot and invested a lot. Years later, why would they actually change?

While the study itself is really great and that there are gold nuggets disseminated throughout the book, there are lots of monotonous moments, which make the book a bit difficult to read, to be frank. Also, the acronyms of UAW, PAW are really much worse than the excellent Rich Dad versus Poor Dad analogy from the eponymous book from Robert T. Kiyosaki.

SUMMARY
An excellent study with a monotonous style. I give it 5 out of 10.


 
 

Home Alone
Jack Anderson March 15, 2019, 12:03 ET

Who hasn't watched Home Alone? A classic family comedy starring the adorable Macaulay Culkin. The film itself is interesting and the concept is very cute. The only problem is that the last part is, to me, quite annoying and overall a bit boring. But I'm sure I had fun watching the film when I was a kid.

SUMMARY
A classic film, even though quite boring. I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 

Ri¢hie Ri¢h
Jack Anderson March 14, 2019, 12:03 ET

I still remember watching Richie Rich in cinema as a kid. The one and only thing I remembered from the movie, watching it 25 years later, was the fact that Richie had his own McDonald's. That was a very vivid memory.

Also, I thought that this movie would be quite bad and it's really the opposite! The story, while not original, is interesting and the movie is well produced.

And the final sequence on the fake Mount Rushmore is obviously a nice hommage to Hitchcock.

SUMMARY
I give it a good 4 out of 10.


 
 

Born This Way
Jack Anderson March 13, 2019, 12:03 ET

A NEW HIT MACHINE?
Born This Way felt a bit odd to me. After the groundbreaking The Fame album and its subsequent equally groundbreaking re-release The Fame Monster, I was wondering if Lady Gaga would be able to continue to produce so many hit songs again. I mean, would you want to be the producer of the album following Thriller? You get my point.

THEME
Born This Way's best and worst part is in its theme. I think it's really a great idea to talk about accepting self and exploring the fact than everyone is "born this way" and must be accepted this way. The only problem is that this is sang by a lady that is showing a very glamorous image most of the time and that is having lots of tracks about being sex and rich, which is a bit counter-intuitive.

LESS RADIO GAGA
Still, the album is really excellent, with lots of catchy tunes, even though it never fully reaches the straight to the point (aka Radio Gaga) beauty from The Fame or The Fame Monster.

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

The Fame Monster
Jack Anderson March 13, 2019, 12:03 ET

Don't get obfuscated, The Fame Monster is not just a re-released album. It is a new album on its own. I am really, really against the concept of having a re-release, as this album stands on its own without any problem. Obviously, it only has eight tracks, whereas The Fame had 15! But clearly, The Fame and The Fame Monsters could have easily be two separate albums of about 12 tracks.

Just a year after The Fame, Gaga is back with crazy tracks such as Bad Romance, Alejandro, Monster and Telephone. All instant hits. The only song that is not fully finished to me is Teeth, but the rest is just sick.

SUMMARY
A real album, I give it 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 

The Fame
Jack Anderson March 13, 2019, 12:03 ET

The debut album from Lady Gaga is a massive pop machine! It is unashamedly electro-disco-pop and works perfectly. I still cannot believe how many hits this record features. You name it: Just Dance, LoveGame, Paparazzi, Poker Face, Eh Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say), "Beautiful, Dirty, Rich". Those are only the six first songs!
What is also interesting is that Lady Gaga will then unfold her talent in her following albums as well.

SUMMARY
I give it an unashamedly 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 

Part 2
Leaving Neverland
Jack Anderson March 10, 2019, 12:03 ET

TRIAL
The second part of Leaving Neverland focuses on the first trial and the moment where, normally, Michael Jackson's world should have collapsed. But the big difference Jackson and another pedophile is that Jackson was such a megastar that he had enough money to either pay the best lawyers or give millions to the victims to pay for their silence ($23 million for Jordan Chandler).

ADULT LIFE
What is then extremely interesting is that the two victims talk about becoming adults and are joined in the interviews by their wives. At one point, James explains that "Secrets will eat you up. It sucks life out of you, just deteriorates you from the inside. Like a part of you is dead. It kind of took everything I had to function during the day, to let other people see me as a functioning person. So, it took a lot of effort to... to keep it together. And then, I would go home and be a wreck."

SUMMARY
I give it 9 out of 10. Outstanding.


 
 

ARTPOP
Jack Anderson March 9, 2019, 12:03 ET

A POOR AND NON-EXISTING CONCEPT
Many are considering ARTPOP, the third studio album from Lady Gaga, as a failure. I always laugh when I read such comments, especially since lots of songs are really catchy and that she sold millions of it.
The main flaw, to me, is the cover and the title of the album. While there is clearly no concept at all, let's be honest, we are told that the concept is ARTPOP, which I think is a terrible choice. I see the pop, but I clearly do not see the art. Where's the art, except on the cover? A statue, a painting. This seems such a non-working concept that I'm not surprised that ARTPOP had such bad reviews upon its release.

SEX
Also, if there's an underlying theme throughout the album, it is clearly not art, but sex. G.U.Y. (Girl under you), Sexxx Dreams, Manicure, Do What U Want (with my body...), Swine ("You're just a pig inside a human body").
The fact she there's a naked statue of Lady Gaga on the album cover with her legs spread should have been the focus. The album is so dense that it should have been stripped down a bit. The awful cover should have been focused on the main theme and the art should have been scrapped, simple as that.
Come to think of it, the album should have been titled SEXPOP.

SUMMARY
Still, the album is very catchy and is a nice electro pop album. It only has the wrong title, as it should have been titled SEXPOP. I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

Joanne
Jack Anderson March 9, 2019, 12:03 ET

Joanne is the fifth studio album from Lady Gaga. Three years after the semi-failure ARTPOP, Gaga is back with her first personal album. She strips down on the crazy outfits, the full makeup and the wigs. She strips down the electronic sounds and gives us a very emotional album. While I think that lot of the songs look more like b-sides than actual songs to put on a major album, I still think the result is excellent.
But when Gaga really leaves everything away, she shines with the power of the Sun. Joanne and Million Reasons are the two most intimate songs and are wonderful. In a way, I wish that Lady Gaga would go fully on her promise and really gives up even more. How much I would pay to listen to an album with only her voice and her piano. That would be quite something.

FAVORITE SONGS
- I loved the eponymous "Joanne" song. The stripped down music makes the emotions very powerful and the chorus is just sublime.
- Perfect Illusions
- Million Reasons
- Hey Girl

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

Gaga: Five Foot Two
Jack Anderson March 8, 2019, 12:03 ET

Gaga: Five Foot Two is a very interesting documentary on singer Lady Gaga. What is interesting is that we get to meet her true self. She doesn't hide from the camera. She cries, is in constant physical and emotional pain and this reveals a new facette of a great artist.

Some will focus on mundane things which I won't even cover. I will remember a nice but too short glimpse in the middle of her life.

SUMMARY
I give it 6 out of 10. Very good.


 
 

Part 1
Leaving Neverland
Jack Anderson March 7, 2019, 12:03 ET

Like in a fairytale, "Leaving Neverland" starts with a wonderful dream-like story. The parallel story of two young and innocent boys. Wade Robson and James (Jimmy) Safechuck. The two boys would cross Michael Jackson’s path, one by chance (Jimmy starring in a Pepsi commercial with Michael) and one by envy (Wade wins a dance competition to meet his favorite artist).

What is very intelligent is that the director takes his time to tell the two stories. It is through their eyes that we will discover who was Michael Jackson. Interestingly, the two boys, now adults, start by saying that Jackson was one of the kindest person they ever met. Jackson would invite them on stage, in tours, would give them money.

Suddenly, the life of two middle class families, one from Australia and one from America, are blessed with the power of fame, celebrity and money. They fly first class, are met by a limousine with a chauffeur, get to meet other celebrities.

Back in the late 80’s and early 90’s, Michael Jackson was the single biggest star on Earth. There is no stars like him today, as explains Jimmy at one point:
“There’s no stars like that now, that kind of megastar.”
Entering Michael Jackson's world was like entering into a Walt Disney fairytale, only real. The mothers explain that they met some of their own idols, such as Harrison Ford, George Lucas or Sean Connery. This feels a bit like when the young boy enters the world of Arnold Schwarzenegger in Last Action Hero. All the kids have heroes: musicians, actors, writers, and meeting your true idol is something surreal.

Michael Jackson fell in love with those children, literally. In a sick way. Jimmy mentions “infatuation”, which is a pretty eloquent way to describe it. Michael would fall for these children the way a young male star would fall for young women, only to throw them away soon after.

This is the story of a fairytale that ends as a horror tragedy.

The mothers are very important in the stories, as they are crucial people. If Jackson wanted to sleep with a women, all he needed was to say the word. Here, it is way more complex for him, as he has to lure the parents and especially the caring mothers. Being a pedophile is not an easy task.

It’s only forty minutes into the first part of the documentary that things start to become really sad. The beloved super-star with a big heart transforms itself into a monster. As another abuser would say, Kevin Spacey in the film The Usual Suspects, “The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was to convince the world he didn't exist.” In that respect, Michael Jackson was a true magician.

But the four-hour long documentary goes far beyond Michael Jackson. In a way, this is not a documentary about Michael Jackson. This is a documentary on childhood abuse and I learned a great deal about it. It actually took me a couple of days to process it. I always pictured that childhood molesters were utterly bad people, crawling into young kids at night and molesting them in a very rough and nasty way. I did not expect that many molesters actually are seducing young kids, the same way someone would seduce an adult. Michael Jackson can be heard at one point stating that his favorite part in the trip to Hawaii with Jimmy was actually Jimmy. Here comes a multimillionaire megastar telling a young kid that he's the center of his universe. The fact that this is Michael Jackson exacerbates the emotions of the young boys.
What is also counter-intuitive is that it can be that young boys actually like having their penis stroke by adults. The feeling can be good and while it is not said out loud in the film, Oprah Winfrey talked about it in an interview released just after the film, titled "After Neverland". This is quite shocking and makes childhood abuse very, very complex. To quote a famous song from Jackson, this is not black or white, and the two men had to spend years before finally understanding that they were abused.

SUMMARY
This documentary opened my eyes on childhood abuse and gave a totally new meaning to the tragedy that so many young kids are living. I also want to recognize and applaud the courage of Wade Robson and James Safechuck. Telling the truth must have been extremely difficult, but I hope that the truth will bring them comfort and ultimately solace.

I give this documentary 9 out of 10. Outstanding.


 
 

A Star Is Born
Jack Anderson March 3, 2019, 12:03 ET

I usually don't watch trailers of films I plan to watch. This was the case with "A Star Is Born". I was really looking forward to see the grand cinema debut from Lady Gaga, a great artist far better and deeper than what many would think about her.
Ironically, when watching the trailer just after watching the film for the first time, I think it shows exactly the beauty of the film, as well as its main flaw.
The first official trailer focuses almost 100% on the first part of the film, the one where Jackson, portrayed by Bradley Cooper, meets Ally (Lady Gaga). There is a true beauty in their first meeting and their ongoing romance. I really loved it.
But then, as soon as Ally meets her producer, the rest of the film fell totally out of place. We have all seen so many times the fake scenes of producers forcing artists to jump into the show business.
It's a shame, because the film could really have been great, unfortunately, I could not enjoy the second part.

SUMMARY
A great first part with a poor second one. I give it only 5 out of 10 because of that.


 
 

Office Space
Jack Anderson February 27, 2019, 12:02 ET

Everyone knows the famous Internet meme of the corporate manager looking down at someone in a cubicle, usually starting with the word "Yeah, ..."
I was actually surprised to see that this was taken from a movie. A comedy about office work. I always thought the meme was from something serious. I simply jumped on the film and really had fun watching it.
The movie is not perfect and there are a few things here and there that do not work, but you can see the total honesty of the writer and director and his ability to show fun characters.

SUMMARY
I give it 6 out of 10. Very good.


 
 

Apollo 13
Jack Anderson February 25, 2019, 12:02 ET

Released in 1995, "Apollo 13" was an important film. I remember how the special effects were praised. While some CGI effects have aged a bit, the film doesn't feel outdated at all.

TITANIC IN SPACE
In a way, the film reminds me of "Titanic" (1998). We start the film with lots of hope about a fantastic voyage, only to hear that the voyage will fail miserably. The fact that the score of both films was composed by James Horner only add to my analogy.
This is to me the best film of Ron Howard. I had great hopes for him at the time and I must confess I felt very sad by his choices throughout his career.

THRILLER
The film is really the ultimate thriller. Even though we know the end, the pressure is constant and, overall, everything works.

THE ORIGIN OF NETFLIX!
A fun fact that you probably don't know is that Apollo 13 is the origin of Netflix. Say whaat?! "I got the idea for Netflix after my company was acquired. I had a big late fee for Apollo 13. It was six weeks late and I owed the video store $40. I had misplaced the cassette. It was all my fault."

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

First Man
Jack Anderson February 24, 2019, 12:02 ET

Two days ago, I watched "Bohemian Rhapsody", a film that showed a story but didn't tell any. "First Man" is exactly the contrary. It tells a story, even though far not perfectly.

SPACE...
First, I am very passionate about Space, even though I have little to no knowledge about it. While we are all focused on the mundane events of our lives, we fail to look up to the stars and only to realize that our fate is just above us. I have watched quite a few movies about Space and each time, I cannot stop but to live the story as if I was up there myself. "First Man" is no exception. The movie starts in a similar way than Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar", with the main protagonist being in the middle of a very dramatic test pilot. The comparison ends there.

AN EMOTIONAL CONNECTION
If you want to tell the story of the first man going on another planet, you have to find a way to do so. And the way it is done is quite subtle and very delicately done. The story of Neil Armstrong's daughter, who passed away as a kid, is a vivid memory and ends with an extremely powerful climax. I really did not expect the film to end on such a dramatic note, and looking back, I would not see a better way to end it.
It probably did not happen, but that's not important. What's important is that this particular storyline transcends Neil Armstrong, because it is not a movie about Neil Armstrong. It is a movie about all of us. About mankind. Life, death and Space are deeply intertwined.
To quote another Neil, Neil deGrasse Tyson, "We went to the Moon, and we discovered Earth."

A COURAGEOUS DIRECTOR
Director Damien Chazelle is very, very courageous. We all know that the main course is Neil Armstrong going to the Moon. But the scene itself is extremely short, in a quite long movie (about 2 hours and 15 minutes). I would not be surprised if most of the audience felt almost duped. But if you think about it, what is the point of seeing the two men running around the surface of the Moon?
Chazelle decided to focus on the first step, its significance and the climax, almost respecting the Moon too much to even spend 30 minutes on it.

TECHNICALLY STUNNING
Technically, the film is really remarkably crafted. The vision from inside the spacecrafts works superbly. Those spacecrafts feels like caskets.
Also, I can only recommend you to watch the IMAX version, in which the scenes on the Moon take another dimension.

SUMMARY
I give the film 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 

Bohemian Rhapsody
Jack Anderson February 22, 2019, 12:02 ET

BIOPRODUCT
"Bohemian Rhapsody" is a typical average Hollywood biopic product, a bioproduct, telling a more or less precise and packaged story but failing to even scratch the surface. As usual, band members are uninteresting secondary characters, while the main protagonist is heavily featured but nowhere to be seen. Do I know anything more about Freddy Mercury after having watched this 2 hours and 15 minutes film? Not at all. That's why documentaries or biographies are usually much more interesting. You can try to add as much make-up as you want, our eyes and soul crave for reality, the same way we cannot sustain watching an add-lip so-called performance.

THE PROCESS OF IDEAS
One thing I particularly disliked was the scenes in which the band was creating music. Actually, they were more discovering God-like songs, as if those were given in multiple Eureka! moments. As a musician myself, there is definitely a beyond beautiful moment where you find "it". But it comes from working, not from sitting around and suddenly getting "it" just by thinking about it. You sit behind a piano, start playing and when doing the work, it comes. You don't look at the sky and get hammered by a hit song. It was even worse when the band is telling the music producer that they will perform a magnificent Opera-like album, without having even worked anything yet and with the certainty of an album that was actually already produced. This is the post-everything movie. You can sense that it has been frabricated based on an already existing storyline.

NO STORY
But to me, the worst thing of all is very simple, and you may not have thought about it while watching the film. What was the actual story of the movie? What was the morale? Any story must say something, or maybe even purposely saying nothing. But here, it doesn’t purposely decides to tell nothing, it actually tries so much to say something, but there’s really nothing at all. Is it Freddy Mercury having a wife and keeping her as a friend? Not so much. Is it about Mercury finally getting the approval of his father? Nope.
Even though the movies The Doors (Oliver Stone) and Gainsbourg : Vie HĂ©roĂŻque (Joann Sfar) were not critically acclaimed, at least those films actually told a story, usually through the lense of something original: the spiritual nature of Jim Morrison in the first and the darker side of Serge Gainsbourg, literally following him from his childhood.

STILL... FUN
But clearly, as a big fan of Queen - who isn't? - I had fun watching the film, and I must admit that the last sequence at the Live Aid concert was really joyful.

SUMMARY
I give it 4 out of 10. A typical Hollywood biopic, with the exact same qualities and problems.

And by the way, "I'm In Love With My Car" is an excellent song...


 
 

I will teach you to be rich
Jack Anderson February 20, 2019, 12:02 ET

A REFERENCE
This book is very well-known among personal finance section. I think this is mostly because of its perfect title. "I will teach you to be rich." There is no proposal, nor question. It's an affirmative fact. So, why not spending $13.95 on it, right?
I immediately liked the friendly and fun style from author Ramit Sethi. Contrary to some douchebags, Ramit is not taking himself seriously and thinking he's having a brilliant mind. On the contrary, I liked his very honest and humble writing.

"FUNANCE"
Let's be honest, do people want to read books about finance? Well, not many. I'm sure reading a thriller or horror story is more appealing than reading about lifecycle funds, dollar-cost averaging or ETFs.
So, the tour de force from Ramit is that he was able to make the financial world interesting. I wouldn't say the book is filled with jokes, but at least there is a clear sense of lightness and joyful message that comes out of it.

FITNESS PROGRAM
What I did not like though, was the six-week program concept, as if it was a fitness book. So, on week one, you optimize your credit cards. Then after a week, you take care of your bank accounts, etc. This felt a bit too childish for me. But this is just a minor thing and a preference on my part more than anything else.

FOR BEGINNERS
But this book is aimed to beginners. And most people are actually beginners. Most people suck at managing money. They overspend, buy new SUVs when they should buy used compact cars and don't invest because of fear.

MUNDANE QUOTES
Oh, and the mundane quotes from unknown people are really redundant and not powerful.

CHAPTERS
For the first time, I'll do a full review and will go through each chapter.

Chapter 1: Optimize Your Credit Cards
If you are not living in a country with credit score, then you can skip this chapter entirely.

Chapter 2: Beat the Banks
Get both a checking and a saving account. End of story.

Chapter 3: Get Ready to Invest
Maximize your retirement accounts, namely your 401(k) and Roth: IRA. Focused solely on US.

Chapter 4: Conscious Spending
I liked this chapter, focusing on creating a spending plan instead of an over-engineered budget that you'll never follow.

Chapter 5: Save While Sleeping
Automate your system. Okay...

Chapter 6: The Myth of Financial Expertise
This is to me the best chapter of the book so far, Ramit makes a great case against mutual funds, stating that they usually fail to beat the market and have huge costs. He backs it up with actual data and strongly advise to avoid active management of stocks (mutual funds) but go towards passing management, such as index funds. This may seems totally counter-productive, as we have been trained with so many films and by the media to proactively pick stocks. What if all of this served nothing at all? This is once again a moment where we can see the Matrix and walk behind the curtain.
I loved that chapter.

Chapter 7: Investing Isn't Only for Rich People
Just top notch! Ramit goes into the details on how to invest and this was also one of my favorite chapters. Because who wants to learn that savings is good and that credit cards are bad? But here, the author goes much beyond the obviousness and opens the door to true investing.

Chapter 8: Easy Maintenance
Nothing to add.

Chapter 9: A Rich Life
Nothing to add.

One important point is that Ramit is strongly against Real Estate.

SUMMARY
I give it 6 out of 10. Very good.


 
 

Frozen
Jack Anderson February 17, 2019, 12:02 ET

Frozen is a classic Disney movie and it is not a coincidence. While the film is taking in a pretty secluded environment, it is still very enjoyable. And obviously, a couple of songs became as classic as the film itself.

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

Les nouvelles brèves de comptoir Tome 1
Jack Anderson February 4, 2019, 12:02 ET

My mother told me about the "Brèves de comptoir" since at least twenty years. Yesterday, while going to the books box near the lake, I exchanged a dumb book and was so happy to finally find one of those famous books. I jumped on it and, once arrived home, read it almost entirely in one sitting.
The book is filled with quotes heard in bars from France. The author, Jean-Marie Gourio, spent days and nights listening to simple people drinking and talking about life.

FUNNY AS HELL
The first pages of the book are so frickin' hilarious that I couldn't stop laughing my ass off. Literally. I laughed, and laughed and laughed again. I don't remember having laughed so much while reading a book. This is the most obvious aspect.

A SIMPLISTIC TRUTH
But second, there is a kind of simplicity that comes out of it. I love watching intellectual debates about life, our place in Humanity, politics, you name it. But in this book, in the words of those simple people, you get a kind of ultimate sophistication. Truth. A cold hard truth. Sometime the comments are totally stupid and racist. But often, there is a kind of poetic beauty that comes ouf of it.

SUMMARY
I give it 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 

The Little Thief
Jack Anderson January 27, 2019, 12:01 ET

By many factors, The Little Thief is a sequel from Impudent Girl, a 1985 movie by Claude Miller. Three years after, Miller once again shoots a movie about a young girl that is... impudent. And who plays the girl? Charlotte Gainsbourg, once again. And once again, she has no mother and uses her "mal de vivre" outside. She steals and has an affair with an older married man.
This time, it's less taking place internally, but externally.

FRANCOIS TRUFFAUT
This film is based on a screenplay by François Truffaut and marks his final work, as he unfortunately passed away in 1984 and never saw the result.

CHARLOTTE FOR EVER
Do I even need to talk about Charlotte Gainsbourg? She magnifies every single celluloid.

SIDE ROAD
I did not expect the movie to go into that very dark direction. I thought it would be mostly about the relationship between Janine and Michel.

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

The Metamorphosis
Jack Anderson January 22, 2019, 12:01 ET

A METAPHOR!
The Metamorphosis is a story of a metaphor. Gregor Samsa is a young man working hard to support his family: his frail mother, his apparently equally frail but agressive father and his dear small sister. Suddenly, one morning, when he was actually supposed to take the train to travel for a sales trip, he wakes up only to realize that he has been changed into a giant insect.

SIX CHARACTERS?
From that moment, all the characters are part of the story. I will even go so far as to say that there are six main protagonists in the story. Gregor Samsa, his mother, his sister, his father but also the narrator and the reader. Since the narrator is supposed to be neutral, it's up to the reader to decide the emotions of the scenes and subsequently the morale of the story.

A TRUE STORY?
To understand the story, you must know that Franz Kafka had a very difficult relationship with his own family - he hated his strict father and depicts the appartement exactly as he lived in his parents' home in Prague.

FREUDIAN?
Some say that the story is having Freudian sidelines, such as Gregor kissing his sister in the neck, but I would tend to agree with Nabokov, who was an admirer of Kafka and was strongly believing that the story had nothing to do with that aspect. I think using the Freudian card may be a bit too simple.

THE ANALYZES
The best part of this short story is that it gives the reader many ways to think about it. Because the book may be small, but it is filled with great ideas and such a perfect progression that you can only close the book and think you need to read it again. It is that good. Kafka tells us a very precise story but lets us think, and, similarly to Samsa at one point of the story, nurtures us with spiritual food. And this is what I love in literature. One of the second characters I loved the most was his sister, because she is a complex character. At first, Gregor has great secret plans to pay for the conservatory of music. You can sense that he truly loves her and at the beginning, once he is changed into an insect, she's the only one who has the courage to take care of him. But since life is cruel, you can only discover, by turning the pages, that she may has done it simply because of the immaturity of her small age. And towards the end, she will be the most cruel and vindicative towards him, openly screaming and asking her parents to get rid of "it".
But you can also not feel too much empathy for Gregor, as his own feelings are quite numb at times and in contradiction towards his own family. Kafka does not simply give him the great role. For instance, at one point, his sister and mother are getting rid of the objects from the room, in order for him to get more space. From his own point of view, they are getting rid of the only things he liked in his room - his room being now his entire life's universe. He never really fights his condition, but rather accepts it.

THE BRILLIANT ENDING
While Franz Kafka did not like the ending, I simply loved it. I first expected the family to kick him out or kill him, but even though he may have died from his father's kicks, in a way, he decides to leave. He has no longer any purpose in life and there is one very important but small line where he says that he looks back at his family with emotion.
And the brilliancy of the end is to see the family getting outside and suddenly looking forward towards their bright future. Gregor, even though they loved him, was a cancer that needed to be extracted. The only solution was for him to die, even though, not long before, he was actually the one taking care of the entire family on his own. Where's the gratitude in that?

SUMMARY
I give it 10 out of 10. A real classic and such a delight to read.


 
 

Everything Is Fine
The Good Place
Jack Anderson January 21, 2019, 12:01 ET

I just lost 20 minutes of my life that I won't find again. I hated everything about it. The images are too crispy and I hate digital. There's no cinematic aspect about anything. And the worst thing is that there is virtually no musical atmosphere, making it one of the dullest pilot I've ever seen.

But... there may be something into it, as the story is original and could lead to something.

SUMMARY
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 

L'Homme Ă  tĂŞte de chou
Jack Anderson January 19, 2019, 12:01 ET

I purposely end my reviews of all the studio albums from Serge Gainsbourg with "L'homme Ă  tĂŞte de chou", one of his best albums and by far. After the outstanding "Histoire de Melody Nelson", Gainsbourg explored other styles and other themes, but this is his first real concept album since. And it is beautiful. This album is so powerful, that it makes everything else feels outdate. Comparing a great concept album with the usual 13-unrelated-songs-album is like comparing a bright novel and a short stories book. Nothing beats Ulysses.

STORY
The story is extremely fun and cinematic. Each time I listen to the album, I can literally see the pictures in my mind. I imagine Serge Gainsbourg opening the door of a hairdresser and getting his hair washed by the hands of Marilou. But the story starts very badly, the narrator loses all his money to entertain Marilou. Clubs, restaurants. Only to discover not long after that she is actually cheating on him with multiple men at the same time ("Flash Forward").
And suddenly, the more Marilou insults him, the more he starts to feel strange. His head is slowly transforming into a man with a cabbage head.
But one night, he cannot take it anymore :
Pour Ă©teindre le feu au cul de Marilou
Un soir n'en pouvant plus de jalousie
J'ai couru au couloir de l'hôtel décrocher l'extincteur d'incendie
Brandissant le cylindre d'acier je frappe, paf
Et Marilou se met Ă  gindre
De son crâne fendu s'échappe un sang vermeille
Identique au rouge sanglant de l'appareil
Elle a sur le lino un dernier soubresaut
Une ultime secousse
J'appuie sur la manette
Le corps de Marilou disparait sous la mousse"
Wow. That's lyrics.

SUMMARY
I give it 9 out of 10. Outstanding.


 
 

Rock Around the Bunker
Jack Anderson January 19, 2019, 12:01 ET

"Rock Around the Bunker" is one of the most unknown albums from Serge Gainsbourg. After a scatological concept album, this one is about... Nazis. And not only that, but the music is very joyful, making it a complete derision of the entire Third Reich.
First, I am not offended by it one bit, the reason is obviously that we all know very clearly the intentions of the artist.
The problem is that making a complete album on a derision is a very difficult task and is partly failed if you ask me, and you actually don't.

SUMMARY
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 

Vu de l'extérieur
Jack Anderson January 19, 2019, 12:01 ET

1971. Serge Gainsbourg releases the best album in his career, the outstandingly brilliant "Histoire de Melody Nelson". Two years and a heart attack later, Gainsbourg is back with an album where the main theme is literally... shit. And this is actually very interesting, as those two albums are quite representing the multiple facets of the character. Gainsbourg was not only an outstanding artist, he could also be very immature and loving to tell a nasty joke. The border between aphorism and bad joke was, at times, thin.

But this is Gainsbourg we are talking about, and the opening song is an instant classic. "Je suis venu te dire que je m'en vais." Many think that this song is about the character singing that he's breaking up with a lady, but it's actually the story of someone saying that he will die.

And you know what? Some songs are quite catchy, such as "Pamela Popo", "L'hippopodame", "Sensuelle et sans suite", therefore, I am forced to admit that this album is actually not bad. And that is very painful, because I am quite disgusted by the main theme.

SUMMARY
Not as bad as you'd think, I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 

Mauvaises Nouvelles des Etoiles
Jack Anderson January 19, 2019, 12:01 ET

"Mauvaises Nouvelles des Etoiles" is the second reggae album from Serge Gainsbourg and it is already one too much. While it was ingenious to try and produce a reggae album the first time, with great songs, in this one there is simply nothing to hear. It feels totally redundant and is not interesting one bit. The tempo is virtually the same in each song, making this album one of the most boring from Gainsbourg's discography.

SUMMARY
I give it 3 out of 10 and I apologize to Serge. Bad.


 
 

Kaori Gets Amnesia: Goodbye, my lovely partner
City Hunter
Jack Anderson January 19, 2019, 12:01 ET

An interesting episode, while an amnesia story is far from being original in TV series, at least it makes for a simple and effective story.
One thing I must say, the bad guys are just that. Bad! Truly awful and it makes these scenes not very believable. And I don't even mention Ryo walking slowly from explosions...

One thing was original though, it was when Kaori asked what are Ryo's feelings towards her. I liked the fact that there was an explosion covering the sound of his voice, hence making the audience guess what he said. It was also visually interesting.

SUMMARY
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 

Episode 1.8
Sex Education
Jack Anderson January 17, 2019, 12:01 ET

Let me get this out of the opened, I love Sex Education! It all started with a bad trailer and the original thought that Netflix was yet again producing a quick product, leveraging a sexy theme and a popular guest star to make money quickly, before moving on to another one.

This season finale is excellent and resolving lots of acts in a nice and tidy way. It is not groundbreaking and it uses classic series tools, but I liked all of it.

One thing I must say (what would a review be without a negative comment, right?), I really did not like the character of the headteacher (and I'll purposely won't give him an uppercase), and maybe that's all right, because he's supposed not to be liked by the audience.

I really hope that this is only the first season of a show that will hopefully continue for a couple of more years. But at the same time, I can probably imagine the show becoming uninteresting as soon as Maeve and Otis are together. Therefore, maybe it's best to leave it there.

Anyway, what I will mostly remember from this series is the utterly perfect casting of the main protagonists. And this is the moment where I finally use their names and I apologize not to have use their names predominantly before. Emma Mackey as Maeve, Asa Butterfield as Otis, Ncuti Gatwa as Eric and Gillian Anderson as Jean.

SUMMARY
An excellent season finale of an equally excellent (first?) season. I give it 7 out of 10 and I already miss the characters. Hopefully I'll meet them again in a year and chances are that I will be disappointed, but I guess the morale of the story is not to overanalyze things and simply go with the flow. And since time flies so fast anyway, I don't think it will be that long. And for those who are reading this review in the future (well... in your present), you may simply click on "Next episode" and be able to read right away what I will write in one year. And... oh, fuck me!


 
 

Episode 1.7
Sex Education
Jack Anderson January 17, 2019, 12:01 ET

The series is unfortunately not able to avoid the clichés such as the ball. Even for a UK show, we get the usual ball scene. Well, the difference between Sex Education and the other average series is that it is done carefully and I, once again, fell for it. We are still in a fabricated environment, but the characters seem to be quite free to make their own choices. The only real fabrication is Maeve falling for Otis, but it works so well that we can only love it.

And I must say I feel free bad that I only have one episode to watch, as the first season only has eight episodes, which is actually quite perfect if you ask me! No time to get bored.

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 

Episode 1.6
Sex Education
Jack Anderson January 16, 2019, 12:01 ET

I liked this episode, in which Otis tries to move forward by tempting to have sex.

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10.


 
 

Episode 1.5
Sex Education
Jack Anderson January 16, 2019, 12:01 ET

After the excellent 4th episode, this one is interesting, but lacks a bit of a je-ne-sais-quoi. The love triangle is a complete trap and I cannot believe I fell for it. I now want to know what will happen between Maeve and Otis. Probably nothing. Oh well, I'm a teenager again.

One thing I actually really disliked was the ending scene. This type of hommage to "O Captain My Captain" clearly did not work and felt fabricated.

One more thing, the main actors portraying Otis, Maeve and Eric are really, really great findings! The casting director needs an award ASAP. They really nailed it. As my friend Gruic once said to me, "they are the shadow of their own light." And I will end my review on that.

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 

Episode 1.4
Sex Education
Jack Anderson January 16, 2019, 12:01 ET

Let me jump right to it: I loved this episode! I must admit I fell for the Maeve-Otis relationship, in which Otis tries to help another boy to win the heart of the girl he actually loves. Sure, this is nothing new, author Edmond Rostand had already did it in 1897 with Cyrano de Bergerac, but boy is it fun! This episode is really, really fun. And I guess I used the word fun too many times in this review already.
This all started with a very bad trailer and only a remote interest because of Gillian Anderson's participation. This ends up experience a very fun series and I am really surprised by that.

Oh, and I forgot. I cannot wait to see what will be Maeve's reaction when her new boyfriend finally reveals to her that Otis actually "shrinked 'em".

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent. Maybe it should only deserve a 6, but I liked it very much.


 
 

Gainsbourg: A Heroic Life
Jack Anderson January 15, 2019, 12:01 ET

Most of the biopics share the same virtues along with the same downsides. We crave to see and experience the lives of our idols, but most biopics fail to capture the essence of the characters they aim to portrait. Because there is usually no point, only to show us that person. But what is the morale of the story? What is the goal?
Here, the director, which is also a drafter (drawing artist), purposely try to create something bigger. And, from my humble opinion, it works... most of the time.
The first part of the movie is outstanding. Simply brilliant. This is the story of a young kid who is, for the lack of a better word, impertinent. The young actor, Kacey Mottet Klein, is wonderful. What makes his performance even better is that he's got a Swiss accent from Lausanne, that is giving him an oddity that works perfectly.

Twenty-two minutes into the film, we leave the young kid to experience the adult life of Serge Gainsbourg. There is a clear cut and I must say I found the first story more interesting. As if the story of an impertinent kid could have been a movie on its own. There's this magic with kids that you don't find with adults. And suddenly, the magic is less present. But still, the film keeps being interesting. We get to meet many famous people from great eras and at the end, this is a story about facing our own demons. And the very imaginative scenes are very enjoyable.

SUMMARY
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 

Episode 1.3
Sex Education
Jack Anderson January 13, 2019, 12:01 ET

I liked this episode. The reason is very simple. Because there is drama. The storyline of Maeve opening herself and being seen vulnerable through her abortion was just very delicately written and produced. I really fell for her.
After three episodes, I must say that the characters are very good. I will watch all the episodes of this first season, that's now a certainty.

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 

Episode 1.2
Sex Education
Jack Anderson January 13, 2019, 12:01 ET

At the end of this second episode, Otis and Maeve are in business! The episode itself is not very good and slightly less interesting that the previous one. Although it ends on a very funny but far from subtle scene, in which teenagers puke at each others after sucking bananas. Did I just write these words?

SUMMARY
Anyway, I give it 4 out of 10. Not bad, but not good. Pure average.


 
 

Episode 1.1
Sex Education
Jack Anderson January 12, 2019, 12:01 ET

After watching the very bad trailer from this series, I was not expecting much. A new Netflix show (pleonasm) about sex and teenagers (from an oxymoron up to a pleonasm too), guest starring Gillian Anderson.
Let me get this straight, I would have never ever watched this series if not for Gillian Anderson, an actress I find particularly talented.

I must say I was surprised by the production quality of the show. While it is far from being a groundbreaking exercise, there are definitely high production values in this show. The opening shot actually tells it all from the start. The editing is fast and we go straight to the point.

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10. A good and fun exercise. Nothing more, nothing less.


 
 

You're Under Arrest
Jack Anderson January 11, 2019, 12:01 ET

VULGAR
Serge Gainsbourg's final album is very representative of his career and legacy. His last album is not great, as some of his discs were. I find this album rather vulgar and no longer poetic. The eloquent metaphors have been replaced by "suck baby", which are pointless lyrics.

THE FINAL SONG
But when you think that there may be witnessing nothing, the final song of his career is beyond sublime. As he did so many times, he steals lyrics. But this time, we all know what song it is. "Mon légionnaire", the famous song from Edith Piaf (1937). But did you know that "Mon légionnaire" was originally not a song from Piaf, but from unkonwn Marie Dubas in 1936. I think this is a nice way to end my reviews about Gainsbourg's studio discography.

SUMMARY
I give it 5 out of 10. The album is not good, but the final song is genius. The last album of a great artist.


 
 

Love on the Beat
Jack Anderson January 11, 2019, 12:01 ET

GREAT SOUND!
After two reggae albums, Serge Gainsbourg, once again, completely changes his style and, this time, goes towards a modern rock style coming straight from New York. Recorded in New Jersey, the album is having really a great sound that is so iconic from the 80's and just beautiful. I love it.

ROUGH LYRICS
In terms of the lyrics, Serge Gainsbourg is writing very simple yet efficient lyrics. A few aphorisms between French and English, a nice song and that's a wrap! But some texts are very rough and, while not very thoughtful, work. While I prefer when he spent the time to write lyrics for "Histoire de Melody Nelson", I must admit I also very much enjoy these simple and rough lyrics.

The album ends with the beautiful song "Lemon Incest", sang with his daughter Charlotte Gainsbourg. The result is truly magnificent and you'd be really stupid to think that this song is anything but a song from a loving father purposely trying to provoque while never crossing the yellow line.

SUMMARY
I give it 8 out of 10. A beautiful sound and rough but great lyrics.


 
 

Histoire de Melody Nelson
Jack Anderson January 11, 2019, 12:01 ET

Everyone knows Serge Gainsbourg. But only lovers of music and Serge Gainsbourg know about Histoire de Melody Nelson. This album is without any doubt one of his best, if not the best. This is his first true concept album. And for someone who stole so many great ideas, at least here is was doing it before most of the others. We are in 1971 and the Pink Floyd Dark Side of the Moon, released two years after, in 1973.

VISUALLY OUTSTANDING
The album starts with beautiful words. We are far from the fun aphorisms. Serge Gainsbourg tells a story, utilizing and leveraging the true power of words and mastering an art form. This is so powerful that Gainsbourg uses the past simple (passé simple) to set the story, which is very simple. An older man drives with his Rolls Royce and suddenly hit a younger woman called Melody. At the end of the opening seven-minute song, he finally asks her name:
- Tu t'appelles comment ? (What's your name?)
- Melody.
- Melody comment ? (Melody what?)
- Melody Nelson.
All is said.

MUSICALLY SUBLIME
Second song, "Ballade de Melody Nelson" a beautiful and simpler song, but with Jean-Claude Vannier's classical arrangements are beyond words. Simply magical. The entire exercise is totally mastered and I will here stop with the superlatives. At least for a sentence.

Third song, "Valse de Melody". A crazy beautiful waltz, in which the narrator explains that the Sun is rare, but that everything moves around with Melody.

But during the sixth and joyful song, suddenly everything stops. We can hear the sound of the wind, and the narrator explains that he lost his beauty in a plane crash.

The album then ends with beautiful voices from beyond the grave.

SUMMARY
I give it 10 out of 10. A perfect timeless classic. Music beyond music. A perfect symbiosis between words and music. As Serge would say... "pas dégueu" (not disgusting).


 
 

Jane Birkin - Serge Gainsbourg
Jack Anderson January 11, 2019, 12:01 ET

After two albums with Brigitte Bardot (or one and a half), Serge Gainsbourg meets a young girl coming straight from London, Jane Birkin. Serge Gainsbourg actually meets her during the shooting of a movie ("Slogan") and the beginning of their relationship is pretty bad. In order to save his film, the director, in a very clever move, decides to play cupid and sets up a dinner in a restaurant for the three of them, but never actually goes. The result? An evening spent just between Jane Birkin and Serge Gainsbourg, and the beginning of Jane & Serge, one of the most cult couples in France during the 20th Century.

But back on the album, Serge Gainsbourg finds the inspiration with Jane and composes a full album for her. The result is fantastic. The first song, "Je t'aime moi non plus", although not composed for her originally, is extremely iconic. Brigitte Bardot has recorded it with him originally, but decided not to release it. Gainsbourg thinks that it is a great song and decides to record it with Jane Birkin. For aficionados of Gainsbourg, I would strongly recommend to listen to both versions and make up your mind.

What I love about Jane Birkin's way of singing is that some notes are so high that she aims for those in a sublime and original way, exacerbating the emotions of the words.

"69 année érotique" is also a very iconic song, in a very similar slightly erotic theme.

"Elisa", taken from the soundtrack of "L'horizon", is once again a beautiful and classic song from Gainsbourg.

Serge also re-records two songs, that he originally composed for others, "Sous le soleil exactement" (for the movie "Anna", sung by Anna Karina) and "Les sucettes" (the highly erotic and sensual song composed for France Gall).

"Manon", is one of my favorite songs from Gainsbourg (but I have so many that I don't even see the point of counting). Composed for the movie "Manon 70", I find it highly original, complex and overall beautiful.

SUMMARY
I give it 8 out of 10. As superb as Jane on the cover of the album.


 
 

Bonnie and Clyde
Jack Anderson January 11, 2019, 12:01 ET

"Bonnie and Clyde" is an oddity, as the album actually contains lots of songs that were released in previous albums, making it half a best of, half an original album.

FAVORITE SONGS
Not mentioning the great songs that come straight from previous albums, here are my favorite original songs from this one:
"Bubble Gum"
"Un jour comme un autre"
"L'eau Ă  la bouche", that was released on the soundtrack of the eponymous film
"La Madrague"

SUMMARY
I give it 6, only referring to the original songs. The others were part of previous albums.


 
 

Initials B.B.
Jack Anderson January 11, 2019, 12:01 ET

Here it is. The very first superb album from Serge Gainsbourg. After the very energetic soundtrack "Anna", Gainsbourg is now offering a wonderful album filled with great ideas and iconic songs, with the brilliant "Bonnie And Clyde".

FAVORITE SONGS
"Initials B.B."
"Comic Strip"
"Docteur Jekyll et Monsieur Hyde"
"Ford Mustang"
"Bonnie And Clyde"
"Qui est 'In', qui est 'Out'"

SUMMARY
I give it 8 out fo 10. Superb.


 
 


Next >

 About Us  Contact Us  Terms and Conditions  Privacy Policy
© 2019 TVore.com