LOGINJOIN



    

Reviews

3,236 reviews

The Big Bang Theory: The Septum Deviation
Jack Anderson January 20, 2020, 12:01 ET

Bad
Bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Prom Equivalency
Jack Anderson January 19, 2020, 12:01 ET

Bad
Bad.


 
 
Grudge
Syldana January 19, 2020, 12:01 ET

Grudge
I knew very well the franchise "The Grudge" or Ju-on and its trilogy of the years 2004, 2006 and 2009, since I had followed the Japanese and US versions as well. This creation had once again illustrated an excellence among the Asians created monsters, specters, urban legends ... impressive of anguish. For my part, the Japanese as much as the Koreans have always known how to captivate me in this register. It is therefore with a certain curiosity that I awaited this new version of the Kayako and Toshio duo, with their murderous rage. Well no, here they are quickly mentioned, the house they haunt in Japan is shipped in 3 seconds and now the curse travels to the USA (ohhh, apparently it can cross the ocean, too strong !!!) in a new family of spectra. The wink to the past once botched in speed, the new ghosts (a husband, a mother and their 6 year old daughter) lose in passing the physical specificities (Asian) which made their charm in the old opus, they are here westernized and therefore become extremely commonplace. Here we completely rework the central intrigue, "The Grudge" 2020 reveals an interesting approach of supernatural thriller where the investigation led by the heroine will become the common thread of the history of all the victims of the curse in his new home . It was nice at first, but throughout the story, despite the presence of Lin Shaye and John Cho, we are less and less captivated, it's slow, morbid, some bloody sequences or shots of dead bodies in decomposition, ultra-depressive characters ... The first films had haunted me, the arrival of James Wang in US horror cinema had seriously excited me with the very good Insidious (or Warren records ...) , but Nicolas Pesce misses his essay concerning me.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Misinterpretation Agitation
Jack Anderson January 19, 2020, 12:01 ET

The One with Billy Bob Thornwhatever
Bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Expedition Approximation
Jack Anderson January 18, 2020, 12:01 ET

Very bad
Very bad.


 
 
Les Stagiaires
Jack Anderson January 18, 2020, 12:01 ET

Modern... for a few days
Les Stagiaires doesn't tell a story. We merely follow a young woman learning her ways into a corporation. While the book is well written, there is not so much for me to eat. A modern meatless bone. Or boneless meat. It's empty. The characters are empty. What is modern here is actually already starting to feel outdated (Communicator?).
Even the supposed modern form is boringly outdated, with a verse from a song on each chapter. What's the point? Well the point is that there isn't. And I don't think it was intentional.

VERDICT
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Junior Professor Solution
Jack Anderson January 18, 2020, 12:01 ET

Bad
Bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The First Pitch Insufficiency
Jack Anderson January 18, 2020, 12:01 ET

Very bad
Very bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Hook-up Reverberation
Jack Anderson January 18, 2020, 12:01 ET

Bad
Bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Focus Attenuation
Jack Anderson January 18, 2020, 12:01 ET

Bad
Bad.


 
 
A Few Good Men
Jack Anderson January 17, 2020, 12:01 ET

You can't handle the truth!
A Few Good Men is taking itself too seriously, is really not original and overall fail to entertain. There is no elements of surprise, as we know from the very first moment that the bad guy (Jack Nicholson) is the bad guy.
So we just go through 2 hours and 15 minutes of boring military clichés. Not enough to make a good film.

The climax of the film became bigger than the film itself: You can't handle the truth! My advice to you, watch that final scene and save yourself two hours.

VERDICT
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Blood At The Wheel
Syldana January 14, 2020, 12:01 ET

Blood At The Wheel
The interest of this episode mainly lies in the fact that we see how terrified Jack is at the idea of losing Phryne. An unforeseen thing intervenes in his life, in season 1 he was not delighted that she interferes with his investigations, today he no longer sees his life without it. Phryne loves fast driving and Jack, failing to demand that she change, wants above all to protect him from the idea of one day having to lose her. Phryne is a risk-all in her life in general, it is difficult to follow her. The final scene is heartbreaking, we feel that a very strong emotional bond has been built between them, but where they oppose is that Phryne lives in the present moment and refuses to constantly think about the future consequences that 'will involve his actions, where Jack, he is very afraid for their future.


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Marked For Murder
Syldana January 14, 2020, 12:01 ET

Marked for Murder
Crime in the world of sport, blah


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Murder A La Mode
Syldana January 14, 2020, 12:01 ET

Murder A La Mode
Phryne is always beautifully dressed, it's a fact. And as Death follows her everywhere, why not a small crime in the Haute Couture salons where it is supplied. Fashionista are in the spotlight here facing a major duel: Haute Couture making war on ready-to-wear.

"The difficult war years, combined with the devastating effects of the 1918 flu pandemic, brought the whole world to its knees. A new feeling of freedom, mixed with disillusionment, created a new type of culture. It is a living society , which led to the Roaring Twenties, a unique appearance and a creative and recognizable clothing style. After the First World War, trends evolved and moved like tectonic plates on the fashion world. reserved for aristocrats and the wealthy, democratizing it becomes more accessible and thus allows men and women of the middle class to have fun with their style. Some luxurious fabrics become affordable and thus open the possibility of creating trendy clothes from At home at the time, it was common to design your own clothes. Stylists and young stylish city dwellers show imagination and try new bold styles. Most women living in rural areas wore the same clothes as their mothers. If we dwell on this pivotal period of fashion, it seems important to specify that like any clothing era, some people were attached to wearing new things while others, more conservative, did not really care to follow movement. The most obvious thing to notice about 1920s fashion is the silhouette. Indeed, if most of the modes accentuate the silhouette in one way or another, that of the 1920s is surprisingly straight and flat. This straight, slender shape is a very distinct element of the style of the 1920s. Women, freed from the shackles of the corset, adopt this androgynous silhouette and wear dresses with a very low waist. The watchword: wear comfortable and practical clothing.
[...] Paris has largely contributed to the trends brought to Europe and North America. The watchword at the time was to produce comfortable clothing that would "liberate" women. They wore dresses every day. During the day, they wore a dress with a very low waist, belted around the hips or the waist. Day dresses had long or short sleeves and a knee-length skirt or down to the ankles. Dress fashion has evolved along with the role of women in society. Also, if older matrons continued to wear very conservative dresses, avant-garde young women opted for more sporty, more comfortable outfits. They succumbed to this post-war fashion and thus contributed to changing trends. Thus, the tubular dresses formerly worn by young adolescent girls gave way to dresses with close silhouettes but with shorter skirts. These skirts sported folds, gathers or slits to facilitate movement. [...]
For almost a hundred years, 1920s fashion has been recognized as one of the most glamorous and innovative periods in the history of modern fashion. This is probably because it is unique, easy to identify, but also because it has helped make women more free."

source https://mademoisellegrenade.fr/blogs/histoires-de-mode/que-portaient-les-femmes-en-1920


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Deadweight
Syldana January 14, 2020, 12:01 ET

Deadweight
The middle of boxing is not my cup of tea, nothing more


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Dead Man's Chest
Syldana January 14, 2020, 12:01 ET

Dead Man's Chest
Phryne and her family finally take a vacation. But Death, of course, pursues her. Deaths, mysterious disappearances, stolen old pieces, the detective will not have time to sunbathe on the beach. This whole story will be the pretext to re-evoke the concept of prohibition with its share of illegal alcohol trafficking and knowing how to save appearances.
Let’s not forget that through the series, it’s the story of the 1920s in Australia that we discover.
At that time, men returned from the War were deeply affected by what they saw or experienced.
The consequences of the war are present on a daily basis and bring a kind of gloom to the Australians. This gloom is combated through cabarets, jazz music, cigarettes and of course alcohol. The temperance leagues stand against those who drink openly. Phryne does not hide her taste for good spirits and toast at the end of each episode with Jack to celebrate a successful investigation. Unfortunately, alcohol also caused a lot of domestic violence, massive financial losses, addictions ... It was as much a pleasure as a curse.


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Death Comes Knocking
Syldana January 14, 2020, 12:01 ET

Death Comes Knocking
"According to Natale, at the foundation of the considerable success encountered by spiritualism - in its different forms and over several decades (from around 1850 to 1920) - lies the ability of its promoters to combine commercial aims and religious beliefs. The spiritualist sessions referred to in the first chapter ("The Medium on the Stage: Theatricality and Performance in the Spirit Session") are a good illustration of this: they are in fact conceived as multimedia shows which combine entertainment and spiritual experience, without fear of contradictions; because these meetings not only imply the coexistence between staging and religious piety, but also give rise to different modes of participation, which range from adherence to skepticism through detached curiosity or pure fun. Attracting a large audience with diverse expectations, spiritualist sessions (public or private) are increasingly "spectacularized" in order to provide a leisure presented as authentic despite its obvious theatrical dimension. The performances of mediums in trance, in particular, are accompanied by speeches and practices which aim to certify their veracity: we recall the modest origins and the naivety of the medium incapable of faking the appearance of a spirit; we rely on physical evidence (drawings, casts, photographs, etc.) testifying to the reality of ghosts; theories of automatism are used to explain the exploits of seers who lend their passive and receptive bodies to the action of spirits. The fantastic of spiritualist occurrences thus calls for a particular mode of belief since the session, in spite of its sensationalism and its ostentatious character, seeks to provoke total adhesion to facts displayed as true."

source : https://www.erudit.org/fr/revues/cine/2017-v27-n2-3-cine03639/1045375ar/
ouvrage : Simone Natale, Supernatural Entertainments: Victorian Spiritualism and the Rise of Modern Media Culture, University Park, The Pennsylvania State University Press

Spiritualism is far from recent. This belief has existed since antiquity and is common to most civilizations. It found its strength in the middle of the 19th century and became popular thanks to sessions supervised by mediums with events such as: hearing blows, turntables, the creation of Oui-Ja, the spirits taking possession of the body of the medium ... In the 1920s, these sessions were very widespread and what could be more normal considering the hecatomb that was the First World War. Many desperate families saw these sessions as a means of communicating with their soldiers one last time. For my part, I am ready to believe in a life after death, but I also believe very much in the fact that many of these mediums benefited financially speaking of the misfortune of these unhappy. But also that these sessions were the subject of an attractive staging. Here the family of Phryne Fisher makes us attend one of these sessions, it is an opportunity to review the character of Aunt Prudence who we always find with pleasure (she is always fun) and to remind us that all the protagonists of the series were affected by this war. Here all this staging will give the opportunity to solve an old mystery unfolded in the battlefields. This episode also shows that some members of Phryne's family were not men of honor, far from it. The kindness and philanthropy of Phryne reminds us that we are, what we do.




 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Murder Most Scandalous
Syldana January 14, 2020, 12:01 ET

Murder Most Scandalous
I loved following this investigation. We finally explore a bit of Jack's past and the episode kicks off with the dramatic discovery of a dead prostitute lying near the commissioner's former stepfather. Could it be a conspiracy targeting the police, in any case all the accusation and this investigation finally gives us the opportunity to get to know the ex-wife: Rosie. An interesting, elegant woman, of good education, but we detect in the look of this woman a certain determination when to the turning point that she wants to give to her life. Certain exchanges make us understand that she did not obtain, during her marriage with Jack, what she aimed for from this marriage: an ambitious husband, a man capable of offering him a "high end" life with money, standing, grade very "pompous" ... We will see if her new fiancé will live up to her ambitions. It is clear that Jack is not interested in decorum, he is a man of action, a field cop, a loyal, instinctive man who wants to manage his life and his career in the respect of a conscience that he would like to keep it intact. Her courage and nobility of heart go hand in hand with Miss Fisher. She surprises him, the fate of his comfort zone and we have felt for quite a few episodes that she was the engine he needed. The investigation immerses us in the world of brothels and we fall from the top when we discover that Dot's sister (100% virtuous woman): Lola, is a full-time worker in one of these lupanars. The scenes of Phryne infiltrating the brothel are awesome and the fan dance scene is precious. In particular, for Jack's reaction.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Locomotion Interruption
Jack Anderson January 12, 2020, 12:01 ET

Here we go again.
Another season, another lame opening.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Status Quo Combustion
Jack Anderson January 12, 2020, 12:01 ET

Average season finale
Finally the end of this awful season.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Gorilla Dissolution
Jack Anderson January 12, 2020, 12:01 ET

The One with the Proposal
Average.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Proton Transmogrification
Jack Anderson January 12, 2020, 12:01 ET

Watchable
At least a half-decent episode in a very bad season.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Anything Can Happen Recurrence
Jack Anderson January 12, 2020, 12:01 ET

3
3


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Relationship Diremption
Jack Anderson January 12, 2020, 12:01 ET

2
2


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Indecision Amalgamation
Jack Anderson January 11, 2020, 12:01 ET

Awful
This season is really bad, I don't even know why I'm watching this series anymore.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Mommy Observation
Jack Anderson January 10, 2020, 12:01 ET

Very bad
Very bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Friendship Turbulence
Jack Anderson January 10, 2020, 12:01 ET

Bad
Bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Table Polarization
Jack Anderson January 10, 2020, 12:01 ET

Bad
Bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Locomotive Manipulation
Jack Anderson January 9, 2020, 12:01 ET

The One with the First Kiss
Bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Convention Conundrum
Jack Anderson January 9, 2020, 12:01 ET

The One with James Earl Jones
Not funny, except for James Earl Jones.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Occupation Recalibration
Jack Anderson January 8, 2020, 12:01 ET

Average
Average.


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: King Memses' Curse
Syldana January 8, 2020, 12:01 ET

King Memses'Curse
Murdoch Foyle, of course, attacks Phryne's adopted daughter to lure her into his trap. This meeting is interesting, but we fall into the traps of scriptwriting facilities, with both feet, in the course of this episode. What is surprising that we close this red thread at the end of season 1. It is very unusual in a series which generally takes much longer to develop Evil around the central character. Here we seem ready to want to finish very quickly. Phryne finally discovers the tomb where her sister was buried after this death haunted her all her life, and we come out with a strange feeling that something is ending too quickly. Murdoch Foyle is clearly disturbed, but let's be honest, in terms of Némesis, I saw better in other fictions where had been created evil entities much more engorantes: Moriarty in the Sherlock series, Jerry Tyon in the Castle series .. .


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Murder in the Dark
Syldana January 8, 2020, 12:01 ET

Murder in the Dark
This episode starts very well, a mysterious crime, the meeting with the cousin of Phryne of which he and the wife prove as crazy as our heroine, a mystery which hovers ... as good ingredients. The Jack and Phryne relationship is increasingly starting to take an interesting turn. We are here in total presence of a very sensual alchemy which develops more and more between them. The kind of thing that the writers love to keep the base fan hanging on to know if "are they going to do it?" or not. The author of the novels that inspired this series has not at all added this connection between these two characters in his works. So it's a real scriptwriting freedom, authorized by Kerry Greenwood, who plays the role of consultant in the series, of course. Here the mystery surrounding the death of Jane, Phryne's sister, is used as a pretext. We already know who killed her, the return of Murdoch Foyle, whose shadow has haunted Phryne's environment for a while, will especially be the opportunity for a much-anticipated face-to-face encounter.


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Blood & Circuses
Syldana January 8, 2020, 12:01 ET

Blood and Circuses
Episodes taking place in circuses generally bother me, except when they take place in Monster Fairs. Called circuses or human zoos, these places testified to the deficiencies of medicine, the lack of prevention, and above all that genetics is capable of creating the most impressive "chimeras". The men and women affected by these very diverse malformations were of course excluded from a very ill-informed society which reduced them to the state of non-human, to repulsive beings, only good to serve to frighten or entertain them . These fairs ended up being banned in Europe, but had their heyday in North America. The study of different cases of human monstrosity is part of a science called teratology. Here, this episode does not take too much risk and here exposes an authentic hermaphrodite victim of a murder. The episode is mainly worth in its deepening of the red thread of the series, Phryne getting dangerously close to his official Nemesis in the person of Murdoch Foyle, the assassin of his young sister Jane.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Hesitation Ramification
Jack Anderson January 7, 2020, 12:01 ET

Not funny
At all.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Cooper Extraction
Jack Anderson January 7, 2020, 12:01 ET

What if this episode was horrendous?
A horrible "what if" episode, clearly stolen from Friends, even with the fat characters. I felt really bad watching it.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Discovery Dissipation
Jack Anderson January 7, 2020, 12:01 ET

Funny
A fun episode.


 
 
The Empire Strikes Back
Jack Anderson January 6, 2020, 12:01 ET

Boring
INCREDIBLY BORING
Yes, The Empire Strikes Back is supposed to be the best Star Wars movie. Well, I find it incredibly boring.
The fight on the snowy planet (whatever it's called, I don't give a damn), the gang wandering in Space, but most importantly, Luke Skywalker doing his Jedi training. I much more enjoyed the training of Rey in The Last Jedi. That was fun. Here, I can admit that it's perhaps more philosophical, but the pace is really slow.
The only scene that is cool is the fight between Skywalker and Darth Vader. But five minutes for a two-hour long film is real short.

MARK HAMILL
Mark Hamill is really showing great acting talent in this film. The scene in which he loses hope in front of his newly-discovered evil father is quite impressive.

VERDICT
I give it 7 out of 10. The original Star Wars film is much better and a true classic, unlike Empire. And yes, I believe many will disagree and I do not care.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Thanksgiving Decoupling
Jack Anderson January 6, 2020, 12:01 ET

Bad
Bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Itchy Brain Simulation
Jack Anderson January 6, 2020, 12:01 ET

Very bad
Very bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Proton Displacement
Jack Anderson January 6, 2020, 12:01 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Death by Miss Adventure
Syldana January 5, 2020, 12:01 ET

Death by Miss Adventure
The character of Mac serves here as a standard bearer for the community of lesbian women. Phryne has the opportunity here to demonstrate her unfailing friendship with her best friend, a doctor. I liked that Mac was the target of an accusation because it created a very interesting suspense at the start of the episode. We are also witnessing the condition of women working in factories. Unfortunately even when a brother and a sister run a business side by side it is still the man who seeks to have the upper hand over decisions. Daily life in this factory is like life in a small village, we work hard, we fall in love, we experience grief, injustice, we witness dramas, bonds are created ... Dot who plays the infiltrated is great here. She shows courage, she changes in contact with Phryne and she gradually sheds her condition of being subject to the services of others.


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Queen of the Flowers
Syldana January 5, 2020, 12:01 ET

Queen of the Flowers
A real episode "Me Too", tackling the subject of the use of young girls with complicated lives as a privileged target for old perverts. Here we learn to learn to fight and rebel. We also dig into the past of Jane the adopted daughter of Phryne. This part is not exciting, but the scenarios like to dig the past of all the characters.


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Away with the Fairies
Syldana January 5, 2020, 12:01 ET

Away with the Fairies
I followed with great interest this investigation which takes place here in the editorial environment of a magazine run mainly by women. In addition to the search for the murderer, we once again dissect the condition of women. The Censorship left little freedom of expression in what the media could and could not put before the eyes of the female community. Many considered that a women's magazine should be content with giving them cooking tips, providing them with sewing tutorials, telling them pretty stories, replying to their letters ... but we quickly find that many women locked in situations desperate appealed to these newspapers for advice. Many women journalists wanted to be able to transmit information on birth control, encourage women to have access to more professional fields, to get out of bad marriages ... The character of Dot (perfect housewife) and the character of Phryne, cohabiting under the same roof, represent a typical diagram of the woman of the time, opposing at all levels. War not only boosts the economy, it changes the world we know. Their friendship and their possible collaboration testify that the spirit of certain so-called "traditional" women began to be a breeding ground for change, guided little by little in this inevitable evolution, to the tumult of a world which was soon to be nothing more than in the hands of men.


 
 
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries: Murder in Montparnasse
Syldana January 5, 2020, 12:01 ET

Murder in Montparnasse
This episode makes the spectator a privileged witness, confronted in the same way as Miss Fisher in an important chapter of her past. We knew that Miss Fisher was a nurse at the time of the war and that her life took a favorable turn after having inherited several fortunes. But Miss Fisher actually grew up in an environment that was rather modest, and her post-war life was a bit in troubled waters. What is interesting is that this episode evokes the fact that after the war many people were not only found traumatized and little able to resume their lives as they had left it . Some did not know what to do especially, which way, which career to turn to and how to rebuild after that. We therefore learn that Miss Fisher led a nonchalant, very unconscious existence and that this led to live both exciting adventures, but also to make terrible meetings. Her relationship with René Dubois shows that she was not always in full control of her life, as strong as today, it is precisely various tests that made her this woman too independent for her time. This relationship was unhealthy, René was possessive, violent, and everything suggests the vision of crimes he was capable of with the Sarcelle couple, that he would certainly have ended up killing Phryne. We also learn how Jack, Cec, Bert and so many others learned from their own journey, their lives unfolded and they have become the marginal and wonderful beings that surround this woman today. Unfortunately, all of them have scars, Phryne's friends, Véronique here, have sometimes had to make very bad choices in order to survive.
After a few episodes watched, we also remember that the script generally respects, during the final scene, a small tradition. Jack and Phryne celebrating the end of an investigation over a drink, most often at home. Here this scene gives rise to a moment that is both comical and sensual, at the sight of Jack laying his eyes on a painting showing Phryne almost completely naked. His perfectly controlled reaction shows how big this man is to be confronted daily with the provocative attitudes of Phryne. I really learned to love this character more and more. Commissioner of the 20s certainly, but intelligent, open-minded, reserved, but very loyal, both hero on the ground while being deeply human in front of the detective.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Romance Resonance
Jack Anderson January 5, 2020, 12:01 ET

Bad
Bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Workplace Proximity
Jack Anderson January 5, 2020, 12:01 ET

Bad
Bad.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Raiders Minimization
Jack Anderson January 5, 2020, 12:01 ET

The One That Ruined Raiders of the Lost Ark
Average.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Scavenger Vortex
Jack Anderson January 4, 2020, 12:01 ET

Average
Average.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Deception Verification
Jack Anderson January 4, 2020, 12:01 ET

Average
Average.


 
 


Next >

News

All News
TV News
Movies News
Books News
Stars News

TV

All Series
Trending Series
TV Quotes
My Series

Movies

All Movies
Coming Soon
Watch Free Movies
Oscar Best Pictures
Movies Quotes
My Movies
Watchlist

Books

All Books
Books Quotes
Book Club
My Books

Fanfics

All Fanfics
My Fanfics

Gaming

All Games

Music

All Albums

Lists

All Lists

Stars

All Stars
Hottest Stars
Stars Quotes
Born Today

Community

Last Comments
Last Reviews
Hottest Stars
Members
Shop
Premium

Contact tvore   Terms and Conditions   Privacy Policy   Copyright © 2020 tvore