LOGINJOIN



    

Reviews

3,082 reviews

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood
Jack Anderson December 15, 2019, 12:12 ET

Once upon a time...
Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood is quite boring. That's the first thing that comes to mind. It took me some time to reflect on the film and I actually only grasped what it meant after the facts. When I saw the title, which suddenly had a totally different meaning, purposely showed at the end of the movie.
Tarantino tells a fable, mixing real characters with written ones, all of that for what? That's the real question, isn't it?
I think the film is really clever. I only started to understand it when Brad Pitt's character is going into the house of that old guy in his bed. Everything is in place for an extremely violent scene. You know you are watching a Tarantino movie and that violence has an inherent place in his filmography. But he's already three steps ahead of you. Suddenly, that old guy is just that... an old guy. Nothing more. And Brad Pitt to leave, leaving the audience both satisfied by the originality but at the same time disappointed. This is a very difficult feeling to describe.

Finally, the movie tells a different story at the end. After being asked so many times if people would kill after seeing violence on screen, Quentin Tarantino actually put these words into the mouths of the characters, only to then avenge the real fallen by giving them an entirely different ending. This itself is the pièce de résistance and the point of the entire film.

Still, did we need so long to tell that story? I don't think so.

VERDICT
I give it 6 out of 10. Very good.


 
 

Jack Anderson December 15, 2019, 12:12 ET

Renaud phoenix sings childhood memories with a dark voice
Renaud is "back dans les bacs" with a new album. Titled "Les mômes et les enfants d'abord" (the kids and the children first), the album is heavily focused on childhood, which is one of the most important themes from the french composer and singer Renaud.

PHOENIX
The album is clearly aimed for fans of the beloved singer, who, once again, is back like a phoenix.

A DARK VOICE
Ironically, Renaud is singing songs about childhood with the darkest of voices. After decades of cigarettes and alcohol, Renaud's voice has been literally destroyed. Obviously, artistically, the result is quite difficult, but we love Renaud. He is part of our family and we just want to spend more time with him while we can.

SONGS
While the album is uneven, I still liked a few songs, such as:
"Les animals" — excellent song to start the album. Fresh and energetic. I like it very much. Renaud's back!
"Mes copains" — a very melancholic song which I really liked.
"On va pas s'laisser pourrir" — a punchy song.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good. Renaud is back, deal with it!


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Pirate Solution
Jack Anderson December 14, 2019, 12:12 ET

Fun
Fun.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Gothowitz Deviation
Jack Anderson December 14, 2019, 12:12 ET

Enjoyable
But not more than this.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Jiminy Conjecture
Jack Anderson December 14, 2019, 12:12 ET

Very bad
I just hated this episode. I just cannot stand sitcom characters vomiting. This is never funny and never will be. Both stories were truly awful.
Also, Lewis Black was not funny.


 
 
Rick and Morty: Claw and Hoarder: Special Ricktim's Morty
Gruic December 13, 2019, 12:12 ET

Power of 12 feet
Probably the episode of the season that made me laugh the most. It's still much too fast, but less than the other episodes of the season, so better. Come on, let's slow down a little more and it'll be just fine.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Electric Can Opener Fluctuation
Jack Anderson December 13, 2019, 12:12 ET

BANG! Hilarious season premiere
From the very first second, the season premiere of season 3 is totally and irresistibly fun and funny! I just loved it and couldn't stop laughing. Just a wonderful start of the new season.
It proves that all is in the writing. You just cannot make a great episode without an equally great screenplay.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Monopolar Expedition
Jack Anderson December 13, 2019, 12:12 ET

Good
A good season finale. Overall, season two is clearly much better than the first. The first season was showing a great potential but the writing was at times really awful. Here, the writing is much better.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Classified Materials Turbulence
Jack Anderson December 13, 2019, 12:12 ET

The One with the Space Toilet
Average.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Vegas Renormalization
Jack Anderson December 13, 2019, 12:12 ET

Las Vegas
Of cours, an episode taking place in a casino, how original? But while I found the idea really bad (every single sitcom uses it at some point), the result was actually very fun. I liked both this story as well as the one with Penny and Sheldon.


 
 
:
Jack Anderson December 13, 2019, 12:12 ET

Noir Désir's best album
This album is cult and is by far the best album from Noir Désir. Don't look for pop because this is not longer the aim. This is Noir Désir as its best. The lyrics are wonderful and complex. The music is extremely original. Just beautiful.
And what about the final song, which lasts for over 23 minutes. L'Europe.
I remember being a teenager and listening to this album over and over (and over) again.
Now, decades later, I listen to it with the same pleasure, but saddened by... Actually, I don't want to talk about it. If you know Noir Désir, you know what I am referring to.

VERDICT
I give it 9 out of 10. Outstanding.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Hofstadter Isotope
Jack Anderson December 12, 2019, 12:12 ET

Funny
I must admit that this second season is way better than the first. The series is actually interesting and really enjoyable now.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Dead Hooker Juxtaposition
Jack Anderson December 12, 2019, 12:12 ET

One of Them
I liked this episode, in which Penny realizes that she becomes one of them.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Work Song Nanocluster
Jack Anderson December 12, 2019, 12:12 ET

Average
Average.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Terminator Decoupling
Jack Anderson December 12, 2019, 12:12 ET

Average
Average.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Cushion Saturation
Jack Anderson December 12, 2019, 12:12 ET

Average
Average.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Maternal Capacitance
Jack Anderson December 11, 2019, 12:12 ET

Interesting
An interesting episode.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Financial Permeability
Jack Anderson December 11, 2019, 12:12 ET

Good!
A good episode, yes.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Friendship Algorithm
Jack Anderson December 10, 2019, 12:12 ET

The One Where Sheldon Tries to Make a Friend
This is the second appearance from Barry Kripke, which will become a recurring character. I must admit the character is interesting and the episode not bad. I must admit I laughed at the flow chart.


 
 
Rick and Morty: Claw and Hoarder: Special Ricktim's Morty
Jack Anderson December 10, 2019, 12:12 ET

The ecstasy season
It's official, the fourth season of Rick and Morty has been made under ecstasy. The pace is so damn fast that a 20-minute long episode feels like 30 or more. So, once again, like the previous three episodes, this episode is fast pace. We go from planets to planets, we get two stories, plenty of new characters, two resolutions, you name it.

JERRY
I really liked seeing Jerry back into the series. But I think his character was under-utilized. An entire episode on him and the cat would have been much better in my mind. Emotions need to be built, otherwise we feel nothing and move from one thing to another without caring.

FAN-SERVICE?
In a way, I think that the fourth season is too much going into fan-service. Each episode is crazier than the previous one, but there is no real character development or true emotions to really enjoy it. Do I like Rick and Morty? You bet. But I think the series is potentially bigger than the sum of its fourth season's parts.

SLUT DRAGONS
And yes, I laughed a lot with the slut dragons, that f***, s*** and eat s***. I'm laughing just by the idea of adding this into the quotes of that episode.

VERDICT
Is it good? I first wanted to rate it a 4, but the two resolutions made me change my mind and give it a 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Marriage Story
Jack Anderson December 10, 2019, 12:12 ET

BARBER vs. BARBER
TRUE
Shot on 35 millimeter film, Marriage Story feels true from the very first shot. After having watched quite a few films that I did not particularly like, watching Marriage Story feels like a breath of fresh air so cold I can truly feel it. The images are crisp but with the beauty of film (go away, you digitized world).

THE STORY OF... A DIVORCE
Marriage Story actually tells the story of... a divorce. And I have seen many films, but don't remember a movie that so eloquently depicted the beautifully disgusting reality of divorce since Kramver vs. Kramer.

KRAMER vs. KRAMER
In many ways, Marriage Story walks into the footsteps from Kramer vs. Kramer, but from both angles of the story. In Kramer vs. Kramer, we mostly focus on the relationship of the father and the son. Here, we get exactly both sides.

SCRIPT
The script is truly remarkable and very clever.

THE BEAUTY BEHIND THE BEAUTY
Scarlett Johansson is so beautiful that we sometimes fail to grasp how talented she can be. Watching her in Marvel movies is as painful as watching a great old bottle of wine but not being able to taste it. Obviously, I'm talking artistically.
Scarlett Johansson is just wonderful. Physically, she has, in this film, short hair and dresses very poorly, which actually removes the shiny about her and lets truly see her. And she is even more beautiful because she is true. She is.
There is a beautifully amazing scene in which she meets her lawyer (Laura Dern) for the very first time. The camera simply focuses on her and... rolling! We move from emotions to others then back to other emotions. She's such a talented actress.

ADAM DRIVER
Adam Driver is also a great actor. He has this kind of freaky expressionless attitude which is magic. And he did also a wonderful job in this film.

LAURA DERN
Laura Dern is simply exquisite as the bitch lawyer. I am sure she had great fun playing that role.

RAY LIOTTA
When I saw that Ray Liotta was playing in this film, I was slightly concerned. And oh boy, was I wrong! He played just perfectly the dirt.

ALAN ALDA
And what about Alan Alda, as superb as ever? I just loved his character too.

VERDICT
This review is very poor and I really do apologize for it. I don't have the energy to go through the review Marriage Story deserves. And I promise you one day I will come back from the future and will write a completely new and good review, perhaps utilizing the same format as the two letters that both lead characters write to each other.
I give it 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Killer Robot Instability
Jack Anderson December 9, 2019, 12:12 ET

Watchable
Not great, but enjoyable, somehow.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Bath Item Gift Hypothesis
Jack Anderson December 9, 2019, 12:12 ET

Sweet
A sweet episode with a nice and sweet conclusion (Sheldon being so overly happy with his Leonard Nimoy signed napkin).


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Vartabedian Conundrum
Jack Anderson December 8, 2019, 12:12 ET

Still not...
... interesting.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The White Asparagus Triangulation
Jack Anderson December 8, 2019, 12:12 ET

Not...
... interesting.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Lizard-Spock Expansion
Jack Anderson December 8, 2019, 12:12 ET

Not funny
I did not like that episode.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Panty Piñata Polarization
Jack Anderson December 8, 2019, 12:12 ET

Loved it!
So far, the good episodes of The Big Bang Theory have been extremely rare. But this one, is really, really funny! I really liked the fight between Penny and Sheldon. That was quite fun to watch.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Cooper-Nowitzki Theorem
Jack Anderson December 8, 2019, 12:12 ET

Funny!
This episode was actually quite funny. I really liked the idea of the girl falling for Sheldon and keeping him from having hobbies other than work.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Euclid Alternative
Jack Anderson December 8, 2019, 12:12 ET

The One Where Sheldon Needs a Drive
Still as immature. This time, Sheldon is trying to drive. I still don't laugh.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Griffin Equivalency
Jack Anderson December 8, 2019, 12:12 ET

A sitcom with no jokes
How ironic?


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Barbarian Sublimation
Jack Anderson December 8, 2019, 12:12 ET

Really not funny
Not funny, so why am I watching it? Beats me.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Codpiece Topology
Jack Anderson December 8, 2019, 12:12 ET

Leslie Winkle
A slightly more interesting episode, solely because of Leslie Winkle, which is by far the funniest character of the series so far. Or should I say, the only funny character of the show.
If I had to chose, I would say:
1. Leslie.
2. Sheldon.
3. Wolowitz.
4. No one else.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Bad Fish Paradigm
Jack Anderson December 8, 2019, 12:12 ET

Somewhat...
... watchable.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Tangerine Factor
Jack Anderson December 8, 2019, 12:12 ET

Average
Average. I already feel that the relationship between Lenny and Penny will be totally awkward and not funny.


 
 
The Irishman
Jack Anderson December 7, 2019, 12:12 ET

Why?
As an admirer of Martin Scorsese, I couldn't wait to see The Irishman. Robert De Niro, Al Pacino and Joe Pesci? Shut up and take my money!
Finally, I was able to see the film. From the very first minutes, I felt odd.

TIME IS OF ESSENCE
Running at 3 hours and 29 minutes, I am sad to say that the film not only is long but feels long. I have no problem watching Titanic, even though it's 3 hours and 15 minutes long, because it is very entertaining – at least to me.
Here, sitting through those 3.5 hours was difficult, very difficult. To such an extent that I thought, "Hey, I'm watching a 3.5 hour film on Netflix, how many episodes would that be?". Well, if you divide the film by 43 minutes, you'd almost end up with 5 episodes. Much easier to go through.
When asked about the idea, Martin Scorsese said it did not even cross his mind and that the film was definitely not intended as a series. Okay. Still, you got to throw a bone to the audience.

ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED?
The problem is, when you have a movie that long, you have to keep the audience interested. Surely, many scenes are compelling, but there is a point, actually from the beginning, where you simply are waiting for something big to happen, and it never happens.

BIG CUTAWAY SCENES
Not only that, but you can see that Scorsese had such a big budget. Many scenes that could have been thrilling only take a couple of seconds. The taxis exploding? Bang!, moving on. Those are almost cutaway scenes.

VIOLENCE
What I especially liked in the film is the way the violence was depicted. We are so used to have violence as this frightening other world so dark that we don't even care for it. Here, once again Martin Scorsese is finding a brilliant way to show violence, in the most realistic way. When De Niro's character goes against the man who pushed his daughter, this was almost unbearable to see, and it's nothing compared to all the epic fights you could see in a PG13 film. I just loved the "messiness" of the action.

CLASSY
Obviously, Scorsese, De Niro, Pacino and Pesci are giants. The saga is told in a bright way and everyone does a great job. But again, I was not entertained.

THEME
Finally, the theme came across. The theme is that you are the result of what you do. No one is good or bad, but your actions tell the story of your life. In this case, Robert De Niro's character lost what is the most precious to someone. His own daughter. I found particularly interesting to watch her watching and knowing all about her father's actions. And when he finally arrives are the end of his life, he has nothing to show for himself. Which brings me to the question his daughter asks him on that fateful day when he killed Jimmy Hoffa.

Why?

VERDICT
I give it 4 out of 10. A great attempt to tell a message, but an extremely boring one.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Peanut Reaction
Jack Anderson December 7, 2019, 12:12 ET

The One with Lenny's Secret Birthday Party
A surprise party? Nothing to mention here.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Pork Chop Indeterminacy
Jack Anderson December 7, 2019, 12:12 ET

The One with Sheldon's Sister
Really, really not funny. I wonder why the hell I am watching that show in the first place.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Pancake Batter Anomaly
Jack Anderson December 7, 2019, 12:12 ET

Pur, pur, pur
It was interesting and sometimes funny to watch Sheldon being ill.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Loobenfeld Decay
Jack Anderson December 7, 2019, 12:12 ET

The lie
Another unfunny episode, this one based on a lie.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Nerdvana Annihilation
Jack Anderson December 7, 2019, 12:12 ET

Not funny but interesting story
The episode is not funny at all, but the second part with Lenny feeling bad towards Penny was interesting to watch. Basically the episode is interesting if you subtract the jokes.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Bat Jar Conjecture
Jack Anderson December 6, 2019, 12:12 ET

How is the episode?
Bad. Every sitcom comes up with an episode with a quizz.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Jerusalem Duality
Jack Anderson December 6, 2019, 12:12 ET

Average
An interesting episode.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Cooper-Hofstadter Polarization
Jack Anderson December 5, 2019, 12:12 ET

Bad
A bad episode.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Grasshopper Experiment
Jack Anderson December 5, 2019, 12:12 ET

Average
An average episode of an equally average series. At leasts you are never disappointed.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Dumpling Paradox
Jack Anderson December 5, 2019, 12:12 ET

The One with Penny's Hot Friend
An average episode with nothing remotely funny.


 
 
The Toys That Made Us: Mighty Morphin Power Rangers
Gruic December 5, 2019, 12:12 ET

fascinating
I was already too old when Power Rangers came out and so I never really looked at it, but I know my classics, I know the Sūpā Sentai legacy, and the main idea is absolutely fascinating.


 
 
The Toys That Made Us: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Gruic December 5, 2019, 12:12 ET

Cowabunga
A very good episode filled with nostalgia. The first toys were an important part of my youth, and I remember vibrating in the cinema in front of the first movie.
I kept an eye on some comics that have kept some intrinsic qualities and I hope, one day, we'll be able to read a new adventure by the 2 original creators.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Middle Earth Paradigm
Jack Anderson December 4, 2019, 12:12 ET

Halloween
A Halloween party, how original? Nothing much to say. Penny and Lenny exchange their first kiss.


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Hamburger Postulate
Jack Anderson December 4, 2019, 12:12 ET

The geek and the beautiful
An average episode that was neither really good nor bad. I must admit I'm already falling for Lenny and Penny, the same way I fell for Ross and Rachel or Ted and Robin. But one question, why is this always about a beautiful woman and a geeky guy?


 
 
The Big Bang Theory: The Luminous Fish Effect
Jack Anderson December 3, 2019, 12:12 ET

Not funny
The episode was not funny and not interesting.


 
 


Next >

News

All News
TV News
Movies News
Books News
Stars News

TV

All Series
Trending Series
TV Quotes
My Series

Movies

All Movies
Coming Soon
Watch Free Movies
Oscar Best Pictures
Movies Quotes
My Movies
Watchlist

Books

All Books
Books Quotes
Book Club
My Books

Fanfics

All Fanfics
My Fanfics

Gaming

All Games

Music

All Albums

Lists

All Lists

Stars

All Stars
Hottest Stars
Stars Quotes
Born Today

Community

Last Comments
Last Reviews
Hottest Stars
Members
Shop
Premium

Contact tvore   Terms and Conditions   Privacy Policy   Copyright © 2019 tvore