Summary       Trivia      Quotes      Reviews       Pictures      Forum      Saga

Slayers Main Novel Series 01 -The Ruby Eye-

 Add to My Books

 Written by
Hajime Kanzaka

When a gang of bandits surrounds a young girl, a tall blonde swordsman named Gourry comes from nowhere to her aid and promises to escort her to Atlas City. Of course, Gourry ignores the true identity of the young girl... She is Lina Inverse, the famous sorceress !

The first story arc, novel 1 to 8, were translated and published in the US by TOKYOPOP

Add my review

À good moment
By Vivi on March 24, 2018

This book is very nice. The first meet between Lina and gourry and zel is very interesting. The beginning of a great story ! I really want tout read the next books

the beginning of the series
By liclic on July 1, 2018

Slayers is a series of fantasy which deals with the adventures of Lina Inverse, a really talented sorceress. In the series, also known as the main series, Lina travels with a top notch swordman, Gourry Gabriew who self proclaims her bodyguard quickly after the beginning of the novel. This duo will always be together during all the novels of the series with the exception of about half the 5th novel.

Both character are complementary. The personality of such duo quickly shows that the series is a comedy where Lina has a short temper and Gourry, even if he is the archetype of the blond, tall swordman, he is frequently helpless when he has to use his brain even to follow a simple conversation. In fact, the creation of such a character enabled the author to give the reader some critical informations.

The story begins in a wood and Lina is just stealing a group of bandits. This feature of bandits wipped out by Lina and being stolend by her is a reccuring feature of the series and the way. It will enable to quickly form the duo Lina - Gourry.

The story works well and the creation of evil characters ( named mazoku in this series) and even the boss is efficient. The first one, Zorom, will help M. Kanzaka to show the difference between normal mobs and real bad guys in the series.

There are even two little points that showed why this book definitely is not completely mastered. First, the illustrator, Mr Araizumi, when he had to create the image of the boss, Shabrani Gudu created an hideous picture instead of a frightening one. The second point is the way of using goblins and other beasts... There are of not real use. Fortunately, in the continuation of the series, there are almost no longer meaningful for the plots. Mazokus' place and use are one of the main creation and distinction with other fantasy series.

No pictures in the gallery.

 New Topic

Best French Website about Slayers
by Jack Anderson on 2018-06-30 07:50:32 ET
1 207
Last post by Gruic
262 days ago

Saga: Slayers

Slayers: The Motion Picture 1995
Slayers Return 1996
Slayers Great 1997
Slayers Gorgeous 1998
Slayers Premium 2001

Slayers 1995-2009
Slayers OVA Special and Excellent 1996-1999

Slayers 1994-03-25
Slayers 1994-06-24
Slayers Royal 1997-07-25
Slayers Royal 2 1998-09-03
Slayers Wonderful 1998-10-22

 Card Games
Slayers FIGHT 1999-01-01

Slayers Main Novel Series 01 -The Ruby Eye- 1990
Slayers Main Novel Series 02 -The Sorcerer of Atlas- 1990
Slayers Special The Prince of Saillune 1991
Slayers Main Novel Series 03 -The Ghost of Sairaag- 1991
Slayers Main Novel Series 04 -The Battle of Saillune- 1991
Slayers Special 2 Little Princess 1992
Slayers Special 3 Naga's Adventure 1992
Slayers Main Novel Series 05 -The Silver Beast- 1992
Slayers Special 4 Plot of the Sorcerer's Guild 1993
Slayers Special 5 Fight! Our High Priest 1993
Slayers Main Novel Series 06 -Vezendi's Shadow- 1993
Slayers Main Novel Series 07 -Gaav's Challenge- 1993
Slayers Special 6 Knockdown! Hero-sama! 1994
Slayers Main Novel Series 08 -King of the City of Ghosts- 1994
Slayers Special 7 Good Luck, Necromancer 1995
Slayers Special 8 Dreadful Future 1995
Slayers Main Novel Series 09 -The Cursed Sword of Bezeld- 1995
Slayers Main Novel Series 10 -Solaria's Strategy- 1995
Slayers Main Novel Series 11 -Crimson Delusion- 1996
Slayers Special 9 Ileez's Travels 1996
Slayers Special 10 Being a Goddess of Destruction is Hard 1996
Slayers Main Novel Series 12 - The Stratagem of the Army of Dynast- 1997
Slayers Special 11 Violent Race! Stagecoach 1997
Slayers Special 12 The Maid Might Witness It 1997
Slayers Main Novel Series 13 - Road to the Demon's Reincarnation - 1998
Slayers Special 13 Respect is Depressing 1998
Slayers Main Novel Series 14 - Hatred in Sellentia - 1999
Slayers Special 14 Haunted Night? 1999
Slayers Main Novel Series 15 - Demon Slayers! - 2000
Slayers Special 15 April's Casebook 2000
Slayers Special 16 Scramble Grill 2000
Slayers Special 17 Small, Strong Melody 2001
Slayers Special 18 Dispute About the Succession of the Ranger 2001
Slayers Special 19 Lunatic Festival 2002
Slayers Special 20 Mission Possible 2003
Slayers Special 21 Thy Name is Sweet Potato 2003
Slayers Special 22 G Hunter Folkus 2004
Slayers Special 23 Break of Destiny 2004
Slayers Special 24 Threat of the Underground Kingdom 2005
Slayers Special 25 Encouragement of Chivalry 2005
Slayers VS Orphen 2005
Slayers Special 26 Missing Saint 2006
Slayers Special 27 Stamp to Kill 2006
Slayers Special 28 Potion Scramble 2007
Slayers Special 29 Magical Old Woman Princia 2007
Slayers Special 30 The Silver Bullet 2008
Slayers Smash 01 Surpassing the lion test 2008
Slayers Smash 02 Academy feast 2009
Slayers Smash 03 The sticky season 2010
Slayers Smash 04 The resurrected king 2011
Slayers Smash 05 The girl falls in love 2011
Slayers Main Novel Series 16 -Encounter at Atessa- 2018

SLAYERS Etcetera 1: Lina Inverse goes today, too! 1995-07-05
Slayers : The Motion Picture 1995-09-09
SLAYERS Etcetera 2: Take a Chance!! Lina muteki no go-ikkou 1995-10-21
Slayers Sound Bible I 1996-06-21
Slayers Sound Bible II 1996-10-02
Slayers Sound Bible III 1997-02-05

 About Us  Contact Us  Terms and Conditions  Privacy Policy
© 2019 TVore.com